WCCSports.com
BYU BYU BYU Pacific BYU BYU BYU BYU BYU BYU
Athletics News

West Coast Conference Teams To Host PINK Matches in October


Sept. 26, 2012

West Coast Chatter Blog! | WCC on Facebook |

SAN BRUNO, Calif. --- Throughout the entire month of October, "Breast Cancer Awareness Month," all nine West Coast Conference institutions will be hosting PINK matches in the sports of women's volleyball, women's soccer and men's soccer to help increase cancer awareness and give students and fans the opportunity to become more involved in the fight against the disease.

Each school will host unique events and activities on campus to give back to the cause. In support of their efforts, the Conference has provided co-branded PINK giveaways, such as backpacks, headbands, and foam fingers, to be distributed to attendees of PINK games this October.

In addition, West Coast Conference women's volleyball teams will utilize their PINK games to benefit the Side-Out Foundation, a nonprofit organization established in 2004 to unite volleyball players and coaches around the common goal of promoting breast cancer awareness and finding a cure, and other local breast cancer research organizations in their communities.

The first WCC PINK event will be a women's volleyball match on Wednesday, October 3rd when San Diego hosts Saint Mary's at 6:00 PM (PT). That match will also be televised live on ESPNU.

For a full schedule of PINK matches across the West Coast Conference, click here.

WOMEN'S VOLLEYBALL
Wednesday, October 3: Saint Mary's @ San Diego
Thursday, October 4: BYU @ LMU
Saturday, October 6: San Francisco @ Portland
Saturday, October 6: Santa Clara @ Gonzaga
Thursday, October 18: Saint Mary's @ BYU
Thursday, October 18: San Diego @ San Francisco
Saturday, October 20: BYU @ Santa Clara
Saturday, October 20: San Diego @ Saint Mary's
Wednesday, October 25: LMU @ Pepperdine

WOMEN'S SOCCER
Sunday, October 7: San Diego @ LMU
Thursday, October 11: San Francisco @ BYU
Friday, October 12: LMU @ Santa Clara
Friday, October 12: San Diego @ Saint Mary's
Saturday, October 13: BYU @ Portland
Sunday, October 14: Gonzaga @ San Francisco
Friday, October 19: LMU @ Pepperdine
Friday, October 19: Portland @ San Diego
Sunday, October 28: Pepperdine @ Gonzaga

MEN'S SOCCER
Sunday, October 7: Portland @ LMU
Friday, October 12: Saint Mary's @ Gonzaga
Friday, October 12: Santa Clara @ Portland
Sunday, October 14: San Diego @ San Francisco
Friday, October 26: Portland @ Santa Clara
Sunday, October 28: Portland @ Saint Mary's