{{ article.title }}

BYU's Collinsworth Named to Cousy Watch List

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook


SPRINGFIELD, Massachusetts – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today BYU senior guard Kyle Collinsworth is one of 20 watch list finalists for the 2016 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross. Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its 13th year recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

“The athletes on this list represent the most dedicated and skillful point guards in college basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “They exhibit many of the characteristics that made Mr. Cousy such a successful player and we are pleased to be recognizing them for their accomplishments. We thank College of Holy Cross for their continued support of this esteemed award.”

Collinsworth – a Cousy Award watch list finalist last season – led BYU to a 25-10 record and an NCAA tournament bid in 2014-15 while averaging 13.8 points, 8.7 rebounds and 6.0 assists. He recorded an NCAA single-season record six triple-doubles, a total that also ties the NCAA career record. Arguably the most versatile point guard in the nation, Collinsworth was the only player in the country ranked in the top 100 in rebounds (42nd), assists (16th) and steals (71st) last season. Among the 20 watch list finalists, Collinsworth ranks first in rebounds, third in assists and fifth in steals.

Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. 

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2016 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2016 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show live from Club Nokia in Los Angeles, California, on Friday, April 8, 2016. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004). BYU’s Jimmer Fredette was one of 10 finalists in 2011.