{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces Winter All-Academic Teams

Feb. 25, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, CALIF. -- The 2010 West Coast Conference Winter All-Academic teams honor some of the league's finest examples of the consummate scholar-athlete. Near the completion of each athletic season, the WCC selects an all-academic squad for each of the participating sponsored sports. A total of 12 players are making their second consecutive appearance on the Winter All-Academic Team.

"It is a privilege to honor these outstanding WCC student-athletes", said WCC Commissioner Jamie Zaninovich. "More than half of this team are repeat honorees, which indicates the strong commitment to academic success on the part of our WCC student-athletes, coaches and administrators."

This year's women's group is highlighted by Pepperdine's Miranda Ayim, who earned 2010 CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VIII First Team honors, marking her second consecutive appearance as she made the third team last year. Five other players are making their second consecutive appearance on the WCC's All-Academic Team in Gonzaga's Janelle Bekkering, Loyola Marymount's Lisa Helmers, Portland's Tara Cronin and Laiken Dollente, and San Diego's Morgan Henderson.

On the men's side, Santa Clara's Marc Trasolini also made the 2010 CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VIII First Team. Others making the WCC's All-Academic Team for the second consecutive year are Pepperdine's Gus Clardy, Portland's Kramer Knutson, Ethan Niedermeyer, and Robin Smeulders, San Diego's Devin Ginty, and Santa Clara's Michael Santos.

2010 Women's Basketball All-Academic Team
Miranda Ayim , PEP *
Janelle Bekkering, GON *
Tara Cronin, POR *
Laiken Dollente, POR *
Emily Hatch, USD
Lisa Helmers, LMU *
Morgan Henderson, USD *
Tiffanie Shives, GON
Alyssa Shoji, SCU
Vania Singleterry Honorable Mention: Heidi Anton, USF; Kavita Goss, LMU; Alex Jarrell, PEP; Kira Kojola, SMC

2010 Men's Basketball All-Academic Team
Troy Alexander, SCU
Gus Clardy, PEP *
Taylor Darby, PEP
Matt Dorr, USD
Devin Ginty, USD *
Kramer Knutson, POR *
Corbin Moore, PEP
Ethan Niedermeyer, POR *
Michael Santos, SCU *
Robin Smeulders, POR *
Marc Trasolini, SCU

* 2009 Winter All-Academic selection