{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces 2008 Men's & Women's Basketball All-Academic

Feb. 29, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, CALIF. -- The 2008 West Coast Conference Winter All-Academic teams honor some of the league's finest examples of the consummate scholar-athlete. Near the completion of each athletic season, the WCC selects an all-academic squad for each of the participating sponsored sports.

This year's women's group is highlighted by six players who earned ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VIII honors, representing five WCC schools. Gonzaga's Jami Bjorklund and Santa Clara's Elizabeth Doran were selected to the Academic All-District VIII first team, while Portland's Rachel Warren, Saint Mary's Lauren Shaughnessy, and San Francisco's Lisa Olden were named to the second team. Rounding out the list was San Francisco's Dominique Carter, who was selected to the third team.

Leading the way on the men's side is Santa Clara's Mitch Henke, who was selected to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VIII first team for the second consecutive year. This also marks Henke's third selection to the WCC All-Academic team. Gonzaga's David Pendergraft and San Francisco's Danny Cavic make their second consecutive appearance on the WCC Winter All-Academic team.

Miranda Ayim, PEP
Jami Bjorklund, GON
Dominique Carter, USF
Elizabeth Doran, SCU
Michelle Elliott, GON
Heidi Heintz, USF
Lisa Helmers, LMU
Morgan Henderson, USD
Lisa Olden, USF
Lauren Shaughnessy, SMC
Allyson Sievers, POR
Rachel Warren, POR

Danny Cavic, USF
Max Craig, LMU
Mitch Henke, SCU
Christian Hernandez, USF
Ethan Niedermeyer, POR
David Pendergraft, GON
Robin Smeulders, POR