{{ article.title }}

EA SPORTS NCAA Basketball 10 Tournament Winners To Face Off In Las Vegas

March 2, 2010

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - With all 16 West Coast Conference men's and women's basketball teams set to take the floor for the 2010 Zappos.com WCC Basketball Championships in Las Vegas later this week, fans will be able to get in on the hoops action at the Sony PlayStation Players Lounge on the concourse of the Orleans Arena.

The Sony PlayStation Players Lounge will be open to the public during the Zappos.com WCC Basketball Championships and will offer WCC fans an opportunity to showcase their skills in the new EA SPORTS NCAA Basketball 10 video game. The lounge will feature 10 state-of-the-art PS3 gaming kiosks running on 40" high-definition Sony Bravia flat-screen televisions. Fans will have the opportunity to get "in the game" with any of the Division I men's basketball teams, including all eight WCC schools.

The Sony PlayStation Players Lounge, which will be open to the public all four days of the WCC Tournament, will allow fans to take control of their favorite team and go head-to-head against other contestants. Daily EA SPORTS NCAA Basketball 10 contests will run continuously throughout the WCC Tournament for consumer giveaways.

During the conference season, each WCC campus hosted their own EA SPORTS NCAA Basketball 10 challenge. The winner of each challenge will be flown out to Las Vegas to compete in the final showdown. Those eight students will go head-to-head in a bracket style single-elimination tournament to determine who is the top hoops gamer in the conference. The final PlayStation3 EA Sports NCAA Basketball 10 Tournament, which will be open to spectators, will take place at the Sony PlayStation Players Lounge on Sunday, March 7 at 4:00 p.m. The grand prize winner will receive a custom-etched PlayStation3, a library of games from EA, and a $5,000 scholarship from EA SPORTS.

The eight students squaring off for the grand prize will be David Lucero from Gonzaga, Michael Baldacci from LMU, Doug Akidi from Pepperdine, Darren Kwan from Portland, Brad Parry from Saint Mary's, Josh Schroeder from San Diego, Kaine Kennerly from USF, and Ashton Caesar from Santa Clara.