{{ article.title }}

Four WCC admins & coaches appointed to NCAA Committees

March 16, 2014

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- The NCAA has appointed four West Coast Conference administrators and coaches to its Division I Committees. The NCAA governance structure consists of legislative bodies that are comprised of volunteers from member schools that manage a wide range of topics including sports rules, championships, health and safety and matters impacting student-athlete opportunities in athletics. The committee appointments were made by the NCAA Division I Administration Cabinet in February, and all appointments are effective September 1, 2014.

University of San Francisco Athletics Director Scott Sidwell has been appointed to the Division I Baseball Committee. Sidwell has served as San Francisco's A.D. since 2011, and is in his first year as the chair of the West Coast Conference Executive Council. Sidwell is a former baseball letter winner at both Brown University and Tulane University. The Division I Baseball Committee selects the at-large teams for the NCAA field each year.

Gonzaga head women's rowing coach Glenn Putyrae has been appointed to the Division I Women's Rowing Committee. Putyrae will participate in the national committee and the national NCAA Women's Rowing Championship selection process. He will also help rank the top teams in the West Region, and attend the NCAA Women's Rowing Championship.

Loyola Marymount women's tennis coach Jaime Sanchez was appointed to the Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Committee. Sanchez, the only coach the LMU women's program has ever known, is in his 39th season with the program. On the committee, he will help select at-large teams to the NCAA field.

University of the Pacific Associate Athletics Director Mike Dalgety has been appointed to the Division I Men's Water Polo Committee. In his 14th year at Pacific, Dalgety oversees the athletics department's budgets and internal affairs. On the committee, Dalgety will help select teams for the NCAA Tournament throughout the duration of his term.