{{ article.title }}

Kari Evans Awarded NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

March 26, 2007

The NCAA has announced the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship winners for the 2006-07 fall sports season and University of Portland women's soccer player Kari Evans was among those selected. Evans is scheduled to graduate this spring as a biology major. She plans on applying to medical schools this summer and begin her graduate studies in fall of 2008.

The one-time, nonrenewable grants of $7,500 each are awarded for the fall, winter and spring sport seasons to NCAA student-athletes in their final year of eligibility. The goal of the scholarship program, which recognizes the athletics and academic achievements, campus involvement and community service, volunteer activities and demonstrated leadership of recipients, is to promote and encourage postgraduate study by rewarding student-athletes through their participation in intercollegiate athletics.

Evans, a four-year starter for the Pilots on defense, has been a consummate student-athlete during her tenure on The Bluff. In addition to appearing in 77 career games with 69 starts, Evans helped Portland win its second NCAA women's soccer championship in 2005. She was an honorable mention All-West Coast Conference defender that year and was named the team captain her senior season.

Academically Evans thrived by earning Dean's List honors in six of her seven semesters on campus while posting a 3.88 cumulative grade-point average. She was a CoSIDA Second Team Academic All-America and NSCAA Second Team Scholar All-America in 2005 and has twice earned WCC All-Academic recognition.

Following the Hurricane Katrina tragedy, Evans spearheaded a fundraising effort with the soccer team by getting fans to donate money for every goal scored during the 2005 season. She also was Vice President of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and has served as a SAAC team representative all four years.

The NCAA awards up to 174 postgraduate scholarships annually - 87 for men and 87 for women.

This year's women's fall sports recipients of the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship are: Virginia Aguilar, Hardin-Simmons University; Elaine Binkley, Denison University; Adonia Bivins,; Austin Peay State University; Rebecca Brezovec, Wingate University; Lauren Campanelli, Villanova University; Lauren Crandall, Wake Forest University; Sophia Dennis, William Smith College; Kari Evans, University of Portland; Tiffany Everding, Simpson College; Jacquelyn Faust, Truman State University; Christina Finke, State University of New York at Geneseo; Amy Franciscovich, Emory University; Jessica Gall, Indiana University; Stephanie Gross, University of Wisconsin, Green Bay; Hailey Harren, Gustavus Adolphus College; Claire Jackson, Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne; Jessica Javelet, University of Louisville; Laura Mann, University of Denver; Jennifer Maurer, Boston College; Stephanie Nothelle, Case Western Reserve University; Sarah Panzer, North Dakota State University; Sheila Parrish, North Dakota State University; Kathryn Phillips, Lenoir-Rhyne College; Michelle Sikes, Wake Forest University; Mallory Soldner, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; Courtney Thompson, University of Washington; Amanda Trotter, Stanford University; Anna Vaughn, Texas Christian University; Anne Young, Denison University.

The men's awardees are: Kevin Balster, Wartburg College; Adam Bohach, Luther College; Joshua Brehm, Alma College; Anthony Breitbach, Clarke College; Gregory Cass, Columbia University; John Drushal, College of Wooster; Justin Ferriman, Albion College; Adnan Filipovic, Furman University; Anthony Franklin, Coastal Carolina University; Stephan Hall, University at Albany; Patrick Henry II, Siena College; Stephen Hrinda, Case Western Reserve University; Patrick Huffer, Williams College; Nigel Marples, Towson University; John Mercuri, University of Scranton; Patrick Millikan, Wabash College; Brian Nickel, Johns Hopkins University; David Niemeyer, Loyola Marymount University; Chad Otte, Wilmington College (Ohio); Carl Pendleton II, University of Oklahoma; Scot Pittman, Washington and Lee University; Benjamin Potts, University of Chicago; Kyle Schafer, U.S. Air force Academy; John Tackmann, Winona State University; Dane Todd, University of Nebraska, Lincoln; Adam Turgeon, University of Minnesota, Morris; Josh Warren, Ohio Wesleyan University; Andrew Winters, St. Norbert College; Alexander Zupan, Gustavus Adolphus College.