{{ article.title }}

Loyola Marymount And Pepperdine Claim WCC Golf Titles

April 18, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WCC Men's Golf Final Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WCC Women's Golf Final Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Copperopolis, Calif. - The Pepperdine women's golf team rolled to its fifth straight conference title, and the LMU men's squad edged San Francisco to capture the program's first-ever title at the West Coast Conference Golf Championships at Saddle Creek Golf Course in Copperopolis, CA. The Wave women led from the opening round, shooting a 305 in Tuesday's final round to finish with a three-round score of 899, while the Loyola Marymount men's squad topped San Francisco by five strokes to capture the team title with an 872 mark.

Brian Locke paced the Lions to their first conference crown with an outstanding final round on Tuesday, shooting a 64 to match a WCC Championship low round score en route to individual medalist honors. The freshman shot a six-under par 210 to become LMU's first-ever medalist, and was joined in the top five by teammates Jason D'Amore and Josh Escobedo, who tied for fourth place with identical 219 marks. LMU Head Coach Alex Galvan and Santa Clara's Rob Miller shared WCC Coach of the Year honors, while Locke was named as the WCC Freshman of the Year.

San Francisco (877) took second place in the men's tournament, its highest finish since 2002, while Santa Clara (886) snagged its second straight third place finish. Saint Mary's (892) finished in fourth place, with Pepperdine (899) capturing fifth place and Portland (907) taking sixth. San Diego (922) and Gonzaga (928) rounded out the field in seventh and eighth place, respectively.

Four Pepperdine individuals finished among the top six individuals on the women's side, led by Jayvie Agojo. The freshman edged out teammate Carolina Llano for individual medalist honors by shooting a 75 on Tuesday to wrap up a five-over par 221. Llano, a three-time individual medalist at the WCC Championships, finished second with a three-round score of 223, while Waves Leanne Bowditch and Marina Choi tied for fifth place with identical scores of 229. Pepperdine Head Coach Laurie Gibbs was named the WCC Coach of the Year for the second straight season, while Agojo received WCC Freshman of the Year honors.

San Francisco (924) notched its fifth straight second place finish in the women's tournament, while Santa Clara (952) placed third in the team standings. Gonzaga (973) finished fourth, and Portland (984) rounded out the women's standings in fifth place.


Player of the Year: Jayvie Agojo, Pepperdine
Freshman of the Year: Jayvie Agojo, Pepperdine
Coach of the Year: Laurie Gibbs, Pepperdine

2006 Women's All-Conference Team
Jayvie Agojo, Pepperdine
Leanne Bowditch, Pepperdine
Marina Choi, Pepperdine
Kristin Nichols, San Francisco
Jessica Potter, San Francisco
Carolina Llano, Pepperdine
Mary Kate Morgan, Gonzaga
Sydney Roughton, San Francisco
Megan Stoddart, Santa Clara
Eileen Vargas, Pepperdine
Eloise Vincencio, San Francisco

Honorable Mention
Molly Edmunds, POR; Casey Gee, USF; Lacey Jo Manwaring, GON; Candice Palmer, SCU; Samantha Trask, SCU


Player of the Year: Brian Locke, LMU
Freshman of the Year: Brian Locke, LMU
Co-Coaches of the Year: Alex Galvan, LMU & Rob Miller, Santa Clara

2006 Men's All-Conference Team
Chadd Cocco, Saint Mary's
Alex Coe, Pepperdine
Jason D'Amore, Loyola Marymount
Josh Escobedo, Loyola Marymount
Jesse Galvon, San Francisco
Ryan Gonzalez, San Francisco
Domingo Jojola, San Francisco
Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
Mike McRae, Saint Mary's
Michael Nicoletti, Santa Clara

Honorable Mention
Bucky Coe, USD; Michael Baird, PEP; John Colyar, SCU; Matt Jacobsen, POR; Eric Lillibridge, SCU; Tim Lynch, SCU