{{ article.title }}

University of San Diego Wins WCC Commissioner's Cup

Complete Commissioner's Cup Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The University of San Diego has won the West Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup for the second straight year, becoming the second school in the eight-year history of the award to earn back-to-back trophies. San Diego also won the 2008-09 WCC Women's All-Sports Award, while the University of San Francisco took home the WCC Men's All-Sports Award.

The Commissioner's Cup is an all-sports award presented at the end of each academic year to the league's top performing school in conference play and is based on a point system, reflecting the finish of each team in conference play. The Men's and Women's All-Sports Awards are given to the schools that accumulate the most points within each particular gender sport. The institution with the highest point total after combining the men's and women's point totals are honored with the Commissioner's Cup.

"I want to congratulate the University of San Diego, its student-athletes, coaches and staff on winning the Commissioner's Cup for the second straight year," said WCC Commissioner Jamie Zaninovich. "In a conference that values broad-based athletic success, this award recognizes USD as `best in class' among a highly competitive field of eight, like minded member institutions."

Upon completion of the baseball season, San Diego ended the year with 64.0 overall points, just a point and a half ahead of San Francisco's 62.5. Pepperdine University finished in third place with 60.5 points, followed by Loyola Marymount University (58.5), the University of Portland (57.0), Gonzaga University (56.5), Saint Mary's College (47.0) and Santa Clara University (40.0). San Diego is the first school to repeat as Commissioner's Cup winner since Pepperdine won three in a row from 2002-04.

"We are excited to win the Commissioner's Cup for the second consecutive year," University of San Diego Executive Director of Athletics Ky Snyder said. "Our student-athletes and coaches have dedicated themselves towards competing for conference championships on a regular basis and being awarded this trophy exemplifies their commitment. This is another step as we build our program and our efforts to compete for the Commissioner's Cup on a regular basis."

San Francisco won the 2008-09 Men's All-Sports Award with 35.5 points, followed by Gonzaga (31.0), Loyola Marymount (29.0) and San Diego (28.0). The Dons captured the award on the strength of conference championships in golf and soccer, and clinched the honor this weekend with a third place finish in baseball.

San Diego won the Women's All-Sports Award thanks to a conference championship in volleyball and top three finishes in soccer, tennis and rowing. The Torero women accumulated 36.0 points, while Pepperdine (34.5), Portland (31.0) and Loyola Marymount (29.5) rounded out the top four.


San Diego

San Francisco

San Diego

Final Commissioner's Cup Standings
1. San Diego64.0
2. San Francisco62.5
3. Pepperdine60.5
4. Loyola Marymount58.5
5. Portland57.0
6. Gonzaga56.5
7. Saint Mary's 47.0
8. Santa Clara40.0

Men's All-Sports
1. San Francisco35.5
2. Gonzaga31.0
3. Loyola Marymount29.0
4. San Diego28.0
5. Pepperdine26.0
6. Portland26.0
7. Saint Mary's 22.0
8. Santa Clara17.5

Women's All-Sports
1. San Diego36.0
2. Pepperdine34.5
3. Portland31.0
4. Loyola Marymount29.5
5. San Francisco27.0
6. Gonzaga25.5
7. Saint Mary's 25.0
8. Santa Clara22.5