{{ article.title }}

WCC To Take A Look Back At The 25th Anniversary of Women's Athletics Team

May 18, 2010

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - With the spring season and 2009-10 academic year coming to a close, the WCC's 25th Anniversary of Women's Athletics is nearly in the books.

To conclude this historic season, the WCC will take a look back at the top 50 former female student-athletes who were named to the WCC's 25th Anniversary of Women's Athletics Team, presented by Zappos.com. Starting on Monday, May 24th, the WCC will highlight 10 individuals who were selected to the 25th anniversary team, every week, in alphabetical order.

Members of the WCC Women's Athletics 25th Anniversary Team represent all seven of the Conference's sponsored women's sports with multiple representatives from all eight league schools. Earlier this spring, one representative of the Women's Athletics 25th Anniversary Team from each school was honored at the 2010 Zappos.com WCC Basketball Championships.

The 25th anniversary team was selected by a voting panel consisting of institutional and conference staff and select media members. In addition to the 50-person anniversary team, the Conference recognized the next 29 highest vote-getters as honorable mention.

In 25 years, the WCC has established itself as one of the premier women's soccer conferences in the country, winning three national titles. In women's volleyball, the WCC is one of the most competitive conferences in the nation, sending the highest percentage of teams from one conference into the NCAA Tournament in 2008. Women's basketball has been equally as impressive sending multiple teams into the postseason for 10 consecutive seasons. In women's tennis, San Diego's Zuzana Lesenarova won the NCAA singles championship in 1999, while in women's golf, Pepperdine has established itself as a perennial national power with four top five finishes in the NCAA Championship. In women's rowing, Gonzaga has won 12 of the previous 13 WCC Championships, while Portland has dominated the WCC Cross Country Championships, winning 19 of the 25 conference titles.

25th Anniversary of Women's Athletics Schedule

May 24th
Jill Austin - LMU (ROW)

Justi Baumgardt-Yamada-POR (SOC)

Mandy Bible - SMC (VB)

Kim Blankinship- LMU (VB)

Maria Bokulich - GON (ROW)

Anja Bordt - SMC (BASK)

Brandi Chastain - SCU (SOC)

Rasheeda Clark - PEP (BASK)

Mandy Clemens - SCU (SOC)
Anna Cmaylo - SCU (VB)

May 31
Ali Cox - USD (ROW)

Kelly Cunningham - GON (VB)

Jermisha Dosty - SMC (BASK)

Chris Enger - USD (BASK)

Susie Erpelding Barosso - USD (BASK)
Cheska Fairbanks - GON (XC)
Devon Forster - USD (VB)

Valerie Gillon - USF (BASK)

Stephanie Hawk - GON (BASK)

Ginger Helgeson - PEP (TEN)

June 7th
Tracy Holman- LMU (VB)
Lindsey Huie - POR (SOC)
Katherine Hull - PEP (GOLF)

Nicole Karr - POR (XC)

Melissa King Fisher - SCU (BASK)

Janna Kovacevich - PEP (TEN)

Deanna Lansing - POR (BASK)

Angela Lawrence - PEP (TEN)

Zuzana Lesenarova - USD (TEN)

Brittany Lindhe - USF (BASK)

June 14th
Carolina Llano - PEP (GOLF)

Stephanie Lopez-Cox - POR (SOC)

Shannon MacMillan - POR (SOC)

Julie McKeon - USD (TEN)

Sarah McFarland - LMU (VB)

Tiffeny Milbrett - POR (SOC)

Tracy Morris-Johnston - SMC (BASK)

Kate Murray - LMU (BASK)

Sarah Noriega - LMU (VB)

Lauren Orlandos-Hanson - POR (SOC)

June 21st
Leslie Osborne - SCU (SOC)

Amanda Rego - USD (BASK)

Julie Rubenstein - PEP (VB)

Nicole Sanderson - PEP (VB)

Martha Sheldon - POR (BASK)

Christine Sinclair - POR (SOC)

Aly Wagner - SCU (SOC)

Katie Wilkins - PEP (VB)

Lindsey Wright - PEP (GOLF)

Petia Yanchulova - USD (VB)