{{ article.title }}

University of San Diego Wins 2008 WCC Commissioner's Cup

May 23, 2008

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The University of San Diego has enjoyed a historic 2007-08 season, culminating with its first-ever West Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup. The Commissioner's Cup, in its seventh year of existence, is an all-sports award presented at the end of each academic year to the league's top performing school in conference play. San Diego also captured the Men's and Women's All-Sports Award, recognizing athletic achievement within each gender.

"The West Coast Conference is proud to present the University of San Diego with the 2008 Commissioner's Cup," said WCC Commissioner Michael Gilleran. "Earning this award is a direct result of San Diego's dedication to building a successful broad-based intercollegiate athletics program. The student-athletes, alumni, staff and administration at USD should take great pride in winning this award."

The WCC Commissioner's Cup is determined by a points-based system that awards a predetermined number of points to each team based on its place in the WCC's final regular-season standings. The top finisher is awarded eight points with each place receiving one fewer in descending order. In sports that do not compete in a regular-season schedule (cross country, golf, women's rowing, tennis), the team's finish in the league championship is counted. The Men's and Women's All-Sports Awards are given to the schools that accumulate the most points within each particular gender. The institution with the highest point total, after combining the men's and women's point totals, is honored with the Commissioner's Cup.

San Diego displayed consistent excellence during the 2007-08 year, finishing in the top three of the final regular season conference standings in 10 of the WCC's 13 sponsored sports. The Toreros claimed their first-ever conference championship in men's golf, while also capturing league crowns in baseball and women's volleyball. San Diego earned second place marks in men's and women's soccer, and women's rowing, and third place finishes in men's and women's basketball, and men's and women's tennis.

San Diego tallied 71 total points to win the Commissioner's Cup. Last year's champion, Santa Clara University, finished second with 62.5 points, followed by Pepperdine University, which tallied 59.5 points. Loyola Marymount University finished fourth with 53 points, narrowly edging Saint Mary's College, which accumulated 52 points. The University of San Francisco (50), the University of Portland (49.5), and Gonzaga University (49) finished sixth, seventh, and eighth, respectively.

Pepperdine won the overall Commissioner's Cup in each of the first three years of the award's existence, while Santa Clara snapped the Waves' string by taking home the award in 2005 and again in 2007. Loyola Marymount captured its first Commissioner's Cup in 2006.

The winning school is presented with a Commissioner's Cup trophy that it retains until the next season's winner is determined.

Final 2008 Commissioner's Cup Standings
San Diego - 71.0
Santa Clara - 62.5
Pepperdine - 59.5
Loyola Marymount - 53.0
Saint Mary's - 52.0
San Francisco - 50.5
Portland - 49.5
Gonzaga - 49.0

Men's All-Sports Award
San Diego - 36.0
Saint Mary's - 30.5
Santa Clara - 29.0
Pepperdine - 28.5
Portland - 24.0
San Francisco - 24.0
Gonzaga - 22.0
Loyola Marymount - 21.0

Women's All-Sports
San Diego - 35.0
Santa Clara - 33.5
Loyola Marymount - 32.0
Pepperdine - 31.0
Gonzaga - 27.0
San Francisco - 26.5
Portland - 25.5
Saint Mary's - 21.5