{{ article.title }}

West Coast Conference Announces Inaugural WCC Sportsmanship Awards

Click here to watch Cameron Edman's speech | Click here to watch Hillary Kigar's speech

June 3, 2011

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- The inaugural 2010-2011 WCC Institutional and Individual Sportsmanship award winners were announced last night at the second annual West Coast Conference Honors Dinner at the Westin St. Francis in San Francisco, Calif. Gonzaga University took home the institutional award and Bulldogs' redshirt senior catcher Cameron Edman was named the Male Individual Sportsmanship Award winner. San Francisco cross country junior Hillary Kigar was recognized for her superior sportsmanship as the Female Individual winner.

All sportsmanship award winners were voted on by the WCC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). Candidates must have demonstrated the values of respect, honesty and integrity through a specific action directed toward an opponent and also in his/her daily participation in intercollegiate athletics during the 2010-11 academic year.

Recognizing good sportsmanship around the WCC was part of the conference-wide "Represent" campaign, which was launched in the fall of the 2010-11 school year and included each WCC institution committing to hosting "Represent" events in which student-athletes would wear their official "Represent" T-shirts and wristbands in an effort to promote good sportsmanship and challenge WCC student-athletes, coaches, administrators, and fans to proudly represent the West Coast Conference, their school, their team, and their selves.

2011 Sportsmanship Awards

  • 2011 Institutional Sportsmanship Award - Gonzaga University

  • Student-Athlete Award Winners

    Male: Cameron Edman, Gonzaga University Baseball

    Female: Hillary Kigar, University of San Francisco Cross Country

  • Fall Team Sportsmanship Winners

    Men's Cross Country University of San Francisco
    Women's Cross Country University of San Diego
    Men's Soccer Gonzaga University
    Women's Soccer University of Portland
    Women's Volleyball Santa Clara University

  • Winter Team Sportsmanship Winners
    Men's Basketball: Gonzaga University
    Women's Basketball: Gonzaga University

  • Spring Team Sportsmanship Winners
    Men's Golf University of San Diego
    Women's Golf Gonzaga University
    Men's Tennis Saint Mary's College
    Women's Tennis University of Portland
    Women's Rowing Loyola Marymount University
    Baseball University of San Francisco