{{ article.title }}

West Coast Conference Awards 2015 Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athletes of the Year

June 10, 2015

| WCC on Facebook | TheW.tv


SAN BRUNO, Calif. --The 2015 West Coast Conference Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athletes of the Year were announced at the sixth annual WCC Honors Dinner, held last week in conjunction with the Executive Council and Presidents' Council meetings at the Dolce Hayes Mansion in San Jose, Calif. Alaysia Brown (volleyball) and Johnny Dee (basketball) collected the accolades representing the University of San Diego.

Brown becomes the third female student-athlete (sixth overall) to ever win the Scholar-Athlete of the Year and the Postgraduate Scholarship and is the first since Portland's Jessica Tsao accomplished the feat in 2011.

The Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athlete of the Year is selected by a vote of the WCC's Executive Council to recognize the finest accomplishments in athletics, academics and community service by individuals who have completed their collegiate eligibility. The award is named in honor of the conference's first full-time commissioner, Mike Gilleran.

Alaysia Brown graduated with a 3.8 GPA in Psychology with a minor in English and compiled one of the most notable volleyball careers at the University of San Diego. A two-time All-WCC First Team selection, Brown helped the Toreros to four consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances, including a Sweet-16 berth in 2013. Following her standout career, Brown was selected to compete in the US Collegiate All-Star Showcase.

Brown turned in a remarkable resume of success in the classroom as well and was also honored as the women's WCC Postgraduate Scholarship winner. The Fresno native was a two-time WCC All-Academic selection and served as a Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and volunteered at numerous not-for-profit organizations including Adopt A Family, Toys for Tots and the San Diego Food Bank.

Johnny Dee graduated from the University of San Diego with a 3.50 GPA in Business Administration and turned in a record-setting career on the hardwood for the Toreros. San Diego's all-time leading scorer ranks eight among West Coast Conference career scoring leaders with 2,046 points and is fourth in career 3-pointers with 333. A two-time All-WCC First Team selection, Dee led all of NCAA Division I in free throw accuracy as a junior connecting on 94.5% (120-127) and helped the Toreros to the 2014 CollegeInsiders.com Postseason Tournament.

A two-time CoSIDA Academic District 8 All-Academic selection, Dee earned Capital One Academic All-American honors as a senior. An active member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), Dee was also involved in the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and was actively involved in community service.

2014 - Clarke Spinosa (USD) and Haiden Palmer (GON)

2013 - Matthew Dellavedova (SMC) and Ana Pontes (PEP)

2012 - Miles Batty (BYU) and Kim Hill (PEP)

2011 - Dylan Leslie (SMC), Jessica Tsao (POR)

2010 - Thomas Betterbed (POR), Jennifer Heinser (USF)

2009 - Greg Moss (LMU), Julie Rubenstein (PEP)

2008 - Tavo Hall (USF), Stephanie Cox (POR)

2007 - Richard Johnson (PEP), Kim McGivens (SCU)

2006 - Nick Kliebert (PEP), Christine Sinclair (POR)

2005 - Michael Putnam (PEP), Megan Kakadelas (SCU)

2004 - Blake Stepp (GON), Kate Murray (LMU) & Imani Dorsey (POR)

2003 - Jeff Kovar (LMU), Katherine Hull (PEP) & Aly Wagner (SCU)

2002 - Dan Dickau (GON), Danielle Slaton (SCU)

2001 - Michael Cortez (LMU), Anne Garrison (SCU)
2000 - Bryan Bothwell (POR), Susan Erpelding (USD)
1999 - Clemens Philippi (LMU), Brittany Lindhe (USF)
1998 - David Sivulich (SMC), Tracy Holman (LMU)
1997 - Uli Steidl (POR), Mollie Flint (SMC)
1996 - Brendan Graves (SCU), Valerie Gillon (USF)
1995 - Jacob Slania (USD), Margaret Krawiec (SCU)
1994 - Jeff Brown (GON), Sheri Brown (LMU)
1993 - Jason Boykoff (POR), Nikki Rosenfeldt (POR)
1992 - Jarrod Davis (GON), Martha Sheldon (POR)
1991 - Brenden Griffin (USD), Anja Bordt (SMC)
1990 - Joe DeBortoli (USF), Paula Mascari (USD)
1989 - Rick Hirtensteiner (PEP), Tracy Thorne (POR)
1988 - Wes Bilven (SCU), Mary Carlson (USF)
1987 - Steve Krallman (USD), Debbie Dunbar (USF)
1986 - John bustos (USF), Chris Starr (NEV)
1985 - Bryce McPhee (GON)
1984 - John Stockton (GON)
1983 - Brandon Bennett (SMC)
1982 - Bill Dunlap (GON)
1981 - Al Smoot (USF)
1980 - Ted Wood (SMC)
1979 - Rodney Lee (USF)
1978 - Patrick McVeigh (SCU)
1977 - John O'Shaughnessy (SCU)
1976 - Dick Skophammer (PEP)

Female Award started after 1986