{{ article.title }}

West Coast Conference Awards 2015 Postgraduate Scholarships

June 10, 2015

| WCC on Facebook | TheW.tv


SAN BRUNO, Calif. -The 2015 West Coast Conference Postgraduate Scholarship recipients were announced at the at the sixth annual WCC Honors Dinner, held last week in conjunction with the Executive Council and Presidents' Council meetings at the Dolce Hayes Mansion in San Jose, Calif. University of Portland cross country runner Scott Fauble was named the Male Postgraduate Scholarship winner, while University of San Diego volleyball middle blocker Alaysia Brown was named the Female Postgraduate Scholarship winner.

Brown becomes the third female student-athlete (sixth overall) to ever win both the Postgraduate Scholarship and the Scholar-Athlete of the Year and is the first since Portland's Jessica Tsao accomplished the feat in 2011. In addition, Brown is the first University of San Diego student-athlete to earn a Postgraduate Scholarship since the award was instituted in 2004.

Fauble is the latest in a long line of Pilots to capture a Postgraduate Scholarship. Five Portland student-athletes have won in the last seven seasons.

To be eligible for a WCC Postgraduate Scholarship, a student-athlete must have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25, demonstrate significant athletic contributions to his or her sport for a minimum of two years, and have a record of participation in campus or community activities. He or she also must submit a personal statement of intention to attend graduate or professional school for which this scholarship would be awarded.

Scott Fauble graduated with a 3.90 GPA, as a graduate student in Education. A three-time All-American in cross country, Fauble lifted Portland to the best NCAA Nationals finish in program and WCC history with a third-place showing in 2014. A three-time student-athlete of the year at Portland, Fauble finished 12th overall in his final nationals appearance with a time of 30:34.4.

A two-time WCC All-Academic selection, Fauble qualified for the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships starting this week at the University of Oregon. Fauble will compete in the 10,000 meter race and secured the second overall qualifying spot. The race will be broadcast live on ESPN3/ESPNU at 6:43 p.m. Wednesday, June 10.

Alaysia Brown graduated with a 3.8 GPA in Psychology with a minor in English and compiled one of the most notable volleyball careers at the University of San Diego. A two-time All-WCC First Team selection, Brown helped the Toreros to four consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances, including a Sweet-16 berth in 2013. Following her standout career, Brown was selected to compete in the US Collegiate All-Star Showcase.

Brown turned in a remarkable resume of success in the classroom as well and was also honored as the Mike Gilleran Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The Fresno native was a two-time WCC All-Academic selection and served as a Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and volunteered at numerous not-for-profit organizations including Adopt A Family, Toys for Tots and the San Diego Food Bank.


2014 - Benjamin Demaree (SCU) and Naseeb Bhangal (GON)

2013 - Aiden Irish (POR) and Ashley Armstrong (SCU)

2012 - Miles Batty (BYU) and Tanya Schmidt (SCU)

2011 - Christopher Mosier (SCU), Jessica Tsao (POR)

2010 - Thomas Betterbed (POR), Lori Conrad (GON)

2009 - David Kinsella (POR), Elizabeth Doran (SCU)

2008 - Mitchell Henke (SCU), Lauren Zuckerman (GON)

2007 - Richard Johnson (PEP), Kari Evans (POR)

2006 - Keith Jarbo (PEP), Kari Durgan (GON)

2005 - Andreas Gahlmann (POR), Robin Bell (SCU)

2004 - Kellen Hiroto (USD), Imani Dorsey (POR)