{{ article.title }}

University of San Diego's Ky Snyder Named West Region Athletic Director of the Year

June 22, 2010

Anaheim, Calif. - The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced the 29 winners of the Under Armour AD of the Year Award (ADOY) today, and the University of San Diego's Executive Director of Athletics Ky Snyder was named the West Region Athletic Director of the Year.

Snyder helped guide the Toreros to their third consecutive West Coast Conference Commissioners cup this season, becoming just the second school in conference history to have won the Cup three straight years. The WCC Commissioner's Cup, is an all-sports award presented at the end of each academic year to the league's top performing school in conference play and is based on a point system, reflecting the finish of each team in conference play. The institution with the highest point total after combining the men's and women's point totals is honored with the Commissioner's Cup.

Snyder is the second straight West Coast Conference winner of the West Regional Athletic Director of the Year Award. Mike Roth of Gonzaga University won the award in June of 2009 to mark the first time a West Coast Conference Athletic Director received the honor since the Division I award classification began in 2005-06.

There are four geographic regions that NACDA has split this award into - northeast, southeast, central and west; while the membership is separated into seven categories - Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A); Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA); Division I (formerly Division I-AAA); Division II; Division III; NAIA; and Junior/Community Colleges, along with one International winner. One winner was selected in each of the seven categories, for a total of 29 honorees. Winners will receive their awards during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Thursday, June 24 at NACDA's 45th Annual Convention at the Marriott Hotel in Anaheim, Calif.

NACDA Executive Director Mike Cleary explains the ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to campuses and their surrounding communities.

"Before the program's inception, our Honors and Awards Committee recognized a need for an award such as the AD of the Year," said Cleary, who oversaw implementation of the program to allow all NACDA Officers and Honors and Awards Committee members to participate in the awards process, should they be elected. "The program brings to light the exceptional jobs done by athletics directors across the country. These 29 winners exemplify that, providing us with a group of outstanding athletics directors who excel at their jobs."