{{ article.title }}

Pacific's Eibeck tapped for NCAA Division I Committee on Academics

Nov. 4, 2014

INDIANAPOLIS -- Pamela A. Eibeck, president of University of the Pacific, has been appointed to serve on the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Committee on Academics. She will serve as vice-chair of the committee.

The new committee is chaired by Roderick McDavis, president of Ohio University, and comprises academic and athletics leaders from 18 other institutions of higher education, including Georgetown, Northwestern and Texas A&M.

"I am pleased to have the opportunity to serve the NCAA and the student-athletes it represents," Eibeck said. "I look forward to working with my colleagues on the committee to advance the NCAA mission of supporting student-athlete success in the classroom and on the playing field."

The new committee replaces two previous NCAA bodies: the Committee on Academic Performance and the Academic Cabinet.

The group will consider "weighty issues that are vital to student-athlete success," according to an article posted on the NCAA's website. It will report to the Division I Board of Directors.

"President Eibeck is an excellent choice for the NCAA Committee on Academics," said Ted Leland, vice president for external relations and athletics at Pacific and former director of athletics at Stanford University. "She has a strong commitment to student-athletes and understands the issues that are dealt with daily. I couldn't imagine a stronger choice for the NCAA."

Eibeck also serves as chair of the executive committee of the Association of Independent California Colleges and Universities, an organization that has represented the state's 77 private nonprofit colleges and universities since 1955.

A mechanical engineer, she holds bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees from Stanford University. Before joining Pacific, she was a member of the faculty at UC Berkeley; served as professor and chair of mechanical engineering, and later as vice provost for undergraduate studies, at Northern Arizona University; and was dean of the Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering at Texas Tech University.

Eibeck's research on heat transfer influenced the design of NASA's space shuttles, and her later work focused on engineering educational reform. Her efforts earned her the Distinguished Engineering Educator Award in 1996 and the Boeing Outstanding Educator Award in 1999. She is a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

--from University of the Pacific