{{ article.title }}

Christine Sinclair Wins Honda Award

Dec. 21, 2005

Soccer superstar, Christine Sinclair from The University of Portland has been voted the nation's top college female soccer player. The honor was based on the results of national balloting among 1,000 NCAA member schools as part of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program, now in its 30th year.

Sinclair's victory will earn her the Honda Award, given annually to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports as well as an automatic nomination for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. She was voted over three other nominees selected by The National Soccer Coaches Association including: Heather O'Reilly from the University of North Carolina, Katie Thorlakson from the University of Notre Dame and Tiffany Weimer from Penn State University.

Senior forward Christine Sinclair led her team to an NCAA title scoring seven post-season goals. She has the distinction of being one of six soccer players in NCAA history with over 100 goals (110) and 30 assists. She was named the NCAA Offensive Player of the Year and West Coast Player of the year for the third time. Sinclair scored 39 goals breaking the NCAA all-time season mark and her 88 points are the second highest in the NCAA for a season.

She finished her collegiate soccer career with 252 points leaving her the fourth highest of all time in the NCAA as well as scoring 11 game winning goals and tying the NCAA record for a goal scored in consecutive games (17). Sinclair also earned The College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-American of the Year and is a 4-time All American recipient.

The presentation of the Honda Award to Sinclair will make her a two-time recipient of the Award (2002-2003 and 2005-2006) and three-time nominee (2002-2003, 2004-2005 and 2005-2006). Sinclair is from Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada.

Previously announced winning athletes include Caroline Bierbaum, recipient of the Honda Award for cross-country and Paula Infante, recipient of the Honda Award for field hockey. Honda Award winners in basketball, golf, gymnastics, lacrosse, softball, swimming & diving, tennis, volleyball, and track & field will be announced in the coming months. The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year will be determined by separate balloting involving all NCAA-member institutions and the winner will receive the Honda-Broderick Cup in New York in late June 2006.

American Honda Motor Co., Inc. sponsors the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program.