{{ article.title }}

Gonzaga Repeats As WCC Rowing Champions

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook

Complete Results

SACRAMENTO - Gonzaga repeated as the West Coast Conference champions for the second consecutive year after claiming a win in the I Eight to surpass San Diego on a tiebreaker.

The Bulldogs and Toreros both finished with 39 points for the second straight season, but in 2015 and 2016 Gonzaga took the WCC championship by virtue of winning the I Eight. 

The Toreros took first in the I Four and II Eight with times of 7:18.9 and 6:40.9, respectively, while Gonzaga finished second in each race. In the final, Gonzaga edged San Diego 6:25.8 to 6:29.4.

Gonzaga also swept the All-WCC major awards, claiming Newcomer of the Year, Coxswain of the Year, Rower of the Year and Coach of the Year.

2016 West Coast Conference Women's Rowing Major Awards
WCC Newcomer of the Year: Lauren English, Gonzaga
WCC Coxswain of the Year: Karly Dougherty, Gonzaga
WCC Rower of the Year: Kara Soucek, Gonzaga
WCC Coach of the Year: Glenn Putyrae, Gonzaga

2016 All-West Coast Conference Women's Rowing Team
Creighton: Sarah Birnbaum, Madeline Eyer
Gonzaga: Kara Soucek, Devyn Bell, Brooklyn Beeler, Ingrid Stansberry
Loyola Marymount: Ruth Morris, Mireia Ros
Portland: Molly Templin, Maggie Keller
Saint Mary's: Brianna Pero, Alexis McGuire
San Diego: Avalon Koenig, Megan McNamara, Uche Anyanwu
Santa Clara: Molly Walker, Katie Bond