{{ article.title }}

Pacific and Santa Clara Garner WCC Men’s Tennis Top Honors

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook

SAN BRUNO, Calif. – Pacific senior Sem Verbeek capped an unbeaten conference season by being named the 2016 WCC Player of the Year, Santa Clara’s Robert Seby is the conference Freshman of the Year and Pacific head coach Ryan Redondo was selected as the WCC Coach of the Year, the conference office announced Wednesday.

A total of 17 singles student-athletes, and nine doubles teams were recognized as All-Conference honorees. All three individual awards - along with the All-West Coast Conference Teams - were voted on by the league's 10 head coaches.

Verbeek went a perfect 9-0 at No. 1 singles in conference play while finishing 18-2 overall on the year to become the first Pacific Tiger to be named the WCC Player of the Year. Verbeek also earned All-WCC First Team Doubles honors on the year to cap a stellar senior season.

Seby was selected as a team captain for the Broncos, and his leadership and play on the courts led to him being selected the league’s coaches as the WCC Freshman of the Year. Seby posted a 10-8 overall record and went 2-3 in WCC play at No. 2 singles while also getting an 11-7 record in doubles play.

Redondo joins Verbeek as a Pacific “first” as the sixth-year coach becomes the first Tiger to be named the WCC Coach of the Year. Redondo led the Tigers to a tie for third in the conference standings with a 6-3 record. He also guided the Tigers to three wins over nationally-ranked opponents.

The men’s teams will kick off the WCC tennis championships on Thursday, April 28 with the first serve at 10 a.m.

2016 WCC Men's Tennis Postseason Award Winners
Player of the Year: Sem Verbeek, Pacific
Freshman of the Year: Robert Seby, Santa Clara
Coach of the Year: Ryan Redondo, Pacific 

All-WCC First Team Singles
Sem Verbeek, Pacific
Michail Pervolarakis, Portland
Guilherme Hadlich, Pepperdine
Jordan Angus, San Diego
Uros Petronijevic, San Diego
Filip Vittek, San Diego 

All-WCC Second Team Singles
Shane Monroe, Brigham Young
Cristobal Rivera, Loyola Marymount
Errol Smith, Loyola Marymount
Lautaro Pane, Pepperdine
Nils Skajaa, San Francisco
Ashot Khacharyan Santa Clara 

Singles Honorable Mention: Keaton Cullimore, Brigham Young; Andrey Goryachkov, Brigham Young; Mathieu Garcia, Portland; Pierre Garcia, Portland; Robert Seby, Santa Clara

All-WCC First Team Doubles
Sem Verbeek and Jose Chamba, Pacific
Michail Pervolarakis and Mathieu Garcia, Portland
Uros Petronijevic and Filip Vittek, San Diego

All-WCC Second Team Doubles
Cristobal Rivera and Charles Boyce, Loyola Marymount
Jordan Angus and Josh Page, San Diego
Nils Skajaa and Vasco Valverde, San Francisco 

Doubles Honorable Mention: Guilherme Hadlich and Gabriel Sidney, Pepperdine; Lautaro Pane and Pedro Iamachkine, Pepperdine; Robert Seby and Connor Garnett, Santa Clara