{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine Women's Tennis To Host NCAA First and Second Rounds

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The eighth-ranked Pepperdine women’s tennis team was one of the 16 institutions selected to host the NCAA Tournament first and second rounds through May 13-14, as announced by the NCAA Women’s Tennis Subcommittee.

To begin the 64-team overall tournament, the eighth-seeded Waves will host Southern California, UNLV and Idaho at Ralphs-Straus Tennis Center on May 13-14.  Other host schools include California, Texas Tech, Duke, Georgia, Oklahoma State, South Carolina, Ohio State, North Carolina, Virginia, Auburn, Vanderbilt, Miami (FL), Michigan, Stanford and Florida. 

On Friday, Pepperdine will go up against unranked Idaho at 1 p.m. while 20th-ranked USC and 72nd-ranked UNLV go head-to-head at 10 a.m.  The winner of each match will then face off on Saturday at 1 p.m.  Live stats for the tournament will be available on PepperdineSports.com, along with a tournament central page to be posted within the week.  

Dating back to 1982, Pepperdine has advanced to the NCAA postseason on 32 occasions.  The Waves have only missed the NCAA tournament twice in the program’s 34-year history.  Since the tournament went to the 64-team format, Pepperdine has played host to the first two rounds in 1999, 2000 and 2006.  The team’s best finishes have been four appearances in the quarterfinals, three straight from 1989 to 1991 and again in 1994.

The Waves have gone 21-2 throughout the 2016 campaign thus far and won the West Coast Conference Championship crown last week for the fourth consecutive year.  Pepperdine also earned the 2016 WCC Regular Season Championship title for their undefeated 9-0 record against conference opponents this season.

The Waves have played nine of the 64 teams in the tournament throughout the regular season, amassing a 7-2 overall record against the opponents, including wins over USC (4-3), Texas (4-1), UCLA (6-1), Auburn (4-0), Arizona State (4-3), North Carolina State (7-0) and Stanford (4-3).