{{ article.title }}

Miller 4th At Notre Dame X-C Invitational

Sept. 29, 2006

Complete Results

SOUTH BEND, Ind. - Joe Miller finished fourth, Colby Litzenberger was 25th and Gonzaga University finished ninth in the Notre Dame Invitational Men's Gold cross country meet Friday at the Notre Dame Golf Course.

Gonzaga's women got strong performances from Kara Rasmussen, Nellie Ballou and Emmylyn Bentley to finish 16th in the Women's Gold out of 24 teams.

Miller ran 24:56 over the 8K course while Liztenberger finished in 25:39. Baraka Poulin was 67th in 26:13, Gabe Hayden 92nd in 26:27 and Eric Mendoza 99th in 26:31. Willy Kaul of the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh captured the race in 24:28.

The Bulldog men scored 271 points for ninth, the Gold race won by Calvin College with 31 points.

Rasmussen was 45th at the 2-mile mark of the 5K race and came on strong to finish 29th in 18:48. Ballou was 54th in 19:06 and Bentley 55th in 19:07. Jackie Marlette of Windsor University in Ontario, Canada, won the race in 17:33.

"Joe and Colby ran great races, and Kara reeled in 26 people in the last mile," Gonzaga head coach Kevin Swaim said. "Overall it was a nice showing. We competed very well. We had the time lag to overcome and I think we responded well to that."

For Miller, Mendoza and Ballou it was their second trip to Notre Dame in their respective careers. Miller finished 10th in 2004 at the National Catholic Invitational in 25:23, shaving 30 seconds off his time this year. Mendoza was 48th in 2004 in 27:08, his time better than 30 seconds better this year. Ballou finished 32nd in '04 in 19:23, her time this year 17 seconds faster.

Gonzaga's men finished second in 2004, while the Bulldog women were third in 2002 in Gonzaga's first trip to Notre Dame.

"This is some of the best collective competition we'll face this season. This meet can only help us prepare for the rest of the season as we set our sights on the West Coast Conference Championship," Swaim said.

There were 205 participants and 20 teams in the Men's Gold race, and 188 runners and 24 teams on the Women's Gold Race.