{{ article.title }}

Women 6th, Men 7th At WCC Championship

Oct. 27, 2007

Complete Men's Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Complete Women's Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

BELMONT, Calif. - Gonzaga University's women's cross country team finished sixth while the mean placed seventh at the West Coast Conference Championship Saturday.

The women tallied 192 points, the men 176.

The University of Portland swept the championships for the sixth straight year, as the Pilot men's and women's teams captured conference titles at the Crystal Springs Golf Course. The men won their 29th straight crown while the women won for the 12th straight year.

Molly Funk paced the Bulldog women, finishing 30th in 23:44 over the 6K layout. Laura Volcheff was 34th in 23:54 and Madeleine Gianotti, the only Bulldog woman who competed last year in the championship, was 41st in 24:45.

Colby Litzenberger took 20th for the Bulldog men in 26:20 over the 8K course. Brett Withers as 26th in 26:36. The duo were the only Bulldog rturnees to the championship from last season.

Dana Morgan of Portland captured the women's crown in 20:32, while Cheyne Inman of the University of San Francisco captured the men's title in 25:20.

Four Portland runners finished among the top seven to lead the UP men's team to the championship. Sophomore Zuber Ahmed led the way for the Pilots, notching a time of 25:25 to finish in second place behind USF's Inman. Portland junior Mike Quackenbush, last year's individual champion, captured fourth place with a time of 25:28, while Andy Edick earned WCC Freshman of the Year honors by finishing first among first year runners in seventh place with a 25:31 mark, just behind last year's Freshman of the Year, Pilot sophomore Tommy Betterbed.

Loyola Marymount finished in second place with a team score of 59, matching the Lions' highest finish in the men's standings that was set in 1981. Junior Trevor Wiseman set an LMU WCC Championship record with an 8K time of 25:30 to capture fifth place overall. Mike Delaurenti led Santa Clara to a third place team finish, capturing third place with a time of 25:27, marking the fastest 8K time for a Bronco harrier in WCC Championship history. San Francisco, paced by Inman's program-record time, took fourth place with a team score of 105, while Pepperdine was led to a fifth place showing by the 10th place finish of senior Chris Ogle, who notched a time of 25:39. Saint Mary's snagged the sixth place spot with 172 points, as junior Mario Mendoza finished 12th with a time of 25:44, setting an SMC program-best 8K time at the WCC Championship.

Four Pilot runners posted top-10 finishes on the women's side, as Portland stormed to its 18th WCC title with a team score of 33. Morgan, last year's WCC Freshman of the Year, paced the Pilots. Junior Sifrash Ademe notched a third place finish with a 21:17 mark, while senior Bobeya Krishnek (21:40-7th) and freshman Paige Pattillo (21:49-9th) rounded out the Pilots in the top-10.

San Francisco captured a second place finish for the second straight season with program-record 43 team points. Five Don harriers placed among the top-12 finishers, led by senior Jennifer Hartford's fourth place time of 21:18. Laura Mickelson, last year's individual champion, took second with a time of 20:56 to lead Loyola Marymount to a third place team finish, while fellow Lion Tara Erdmann earned WCC Freshman of the Year honors following a fifth place showing at 21:26. Santa Clara freshman Melissa Conlin took eighth place with a 21:48 mark, leading the Broncos to a fourth place team finish with 83 points. Pepperdine posted a score of 153 to finish in fifth place.

The top 10 finishers in each race earned All-WCC honors, while the No. 11-15 finishers received All-WCC honorable mention recognition. Portland's Rob Conner shared WCC Coach of the Year recognition with Loyola Marymount's Scott Guerrero on the men's side, while Portland's Ian Solof took home Coach of the Year recognition on the women's side. Both Pilot coaches also took home Coach of the Year accolades last season.