{{ article.title }}

BYU senior Miles Batty Awarded NCAA Walter Byers Postgrad Scholarship

May 16, 2012

WCC on Twitter | WCC on Facebook | WCC on YouTube

PROVO, Utah -- The NCAA announced that BYU track and cross country All-American Miles Batty is the recipient of the 2012 Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship. Batty will a receive renewable award of $24,000.

Batty, a neuroscience and exercise science major with a 3.93 GPA, plans to pursue a degree in medicine following graduation from BYU. He was the 2011 Mountain Region Cross Country Athlete of the Year and the 2011 U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association Indoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year. Batty was also named the 2011 Capital One CoSIDA Academic All-American of the Year.

Batty qualified for the 2012 Olympic Trials in the 1,500 meters and broke the collegiate indoor mile record (3:54.54) at the Millrose Games in New York in February 2012. As a junior in 2011, Batty won the Indoor National Championship in the mile (3:59.49) and also ran the anchor leg on the distance medley relay team that won the NCAA title.

In his application essay for the Walter Byers Scholarship, Batty wrote: "I have come to realize that no matter how hard the task at hand, all our successes in life are a function of our desire. I know that I can do anything if it is something that I really want to do. I know that I have a lot of work ahead of me as I pursue my career in medicine. It will require much studying, long nights in the hospital and caring service toward patients. But more than anything, I know how much I want to carry out this dream that will help me accomplish my most important goals in life."

The Walter Byers Scholarships were established in 1988 and recognize the contributions of former NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Recipients must have a grade-point average of at least 3.5, demonstrate evidence of superior character and leadership, and show that participation in athletics has been a positive influence on their personal and intellectual development.

The award will be formally presented during the Faculty Athletics Representatives Association's Annual Meeting and Symposium Honors Dinner in Indianapolis on November 8, 2012.

-Courtesy of byucougars.com