{{ article.title }}

West Coast Conference Recognizes 2011-12 WCC Sportsmanship Award Winners

June 11, 2012

BYU Athletic Director Tom Holmoe | San Diego's Madison Levine | WCC Honors Dinner Photo Gallery

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- The 2011-12 WCC Institutional and Individual Sportsmanship Award winners were announced last week at the third annual West Coast Conference Honors Dinner in Coeur d'Alene, ID. BYU earned the 2011-12 WCC Institutional Sportsmanship Trophy, while Saint Mary's Doug Herrick and San Diego's Madison Levine were named the 2011-12 WCC Individual Sportsmanship Award winners.

BYU was named the Institutional Sportsmanship Award winner after winning sportsmanship awards in the sports of men's cross country, women's volleyball, men's basketball and baseball. Athletic Director Tom Holmoe accepted the award on the school's behalf.

Doug Herrick was unable to attend the WCC Honors Dinner due to competition with a semi-pro team in Seattle. Herrick graduated as one of Saint Mary's top goalkeepers and was chosen as the male sportsmanship award winner for his contributions both on and off the field. As a keeper, Herrick ended his career as a three-time All-WCC selection, a school record holder in career wins (27) and shutouts (24), and part of a team that won its first ever WCC title in program history and advanced to NCAA Elite 8.

Off the field, Herrick helped his team overcome adversity. During his sophomore year, Herrick's co-goal keeper and best friend Connor Redd died unexpectedly while studying abroad. To commemorate Redd's life, Doug coined MCP, "Make Connor Proud," and has been a lead organizer of annual events in the athletic department to remember Redd's legacy. Less than two years later, another teammate, Emmanuel "Morro" Sarabia, was suddenly diagnosed with cancer. Herrick immediately organized events to raise money for Sarabia's medical bills (created wristbands, shaved heads, other SMC teams played "friendlies" to raise awareness and money). One event even included teaming up with USF to sell wristbands at a Men's Basketball game. In 3 months, Doug and the team has raised over $22,000.

San Diego's Madison Levine, who will be a senior next year, was recognized for her work promoting the WCC's "REPRESENT" campaign. A cross country and track team captain nominated by her peers for her work throughout the season, Levine also proved to be a leader in the campus and community, dedicating time to educate her colleagues about positive sportsmanship. Levine was one of the original founders of the "Spirit of the Torero," a student-athlete Facebook page designated to highlighting all the outstanding sportsmanship achievements of USD student-athletes on a daily basis. In November, Levine also helped to organize a REPRESENT Day Sportsmanship Clinic, which hosted elementary and middle school children from the San Diego County of Education to engage in athletic skill competition and learn about sportsmanship.

All sportsmanship award winners were voted on by the WCC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), a group of student-athletes with representation from each WCC school. Candidates must have demonstrated the values of respect, honesty and integrity through a specific action directed toward an opponent and also in his/her daily participation in intercollegiate athletics during the academic year.

The WCC "REPRESENT" campaign is a conference-wide sportsmanship campaign, which was launched in the fall of the 2010-11 school year in an effort to promote good sportsmanship and challenge WCC student-athletes, coaches, administrators, and fans to proudly represent the West Coast Conference, their school, their team, and their selves.

2011-12 WCC Sportsmanship Awards

Institutional Sportsmanship Award Winner

Brigham Young University

Individual Sportsmanship Award Winners

Male: Doug Herrick, Saint Mary's College, Soccer

Female: Madison Levine, University of San Diego, Cross Country

Fall Team Sportsmanship Winners
Men's Cross Country: BYU
Women's Cross Country: University of San Francisco
Men's Soccer: Gonzaga University
Women's Soccer: Pepperdine University
Women's Volleyball: BYU

Winter Team Sportsmanship Winners
Men's Basketball: BYU
Women's Basketball: Gonzaga University

Spring Team Sportsmanship Winners
Men's Golf: Loyola Marymount University & Gonzaga University
Women's Golf: Gonzaga University
Men's Tennis: University of Portland
Women's Tennis: Saint Mary's College
Women's Rowing: Santa Clara University
Baseball: BYU