{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces 2010 WCC Cross Country Preseason Poll

Aug. 26, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. --- The 2009 WCC Cross Country Champions, the University of Portland men and University of San Francisco women, were chosen to take home the conference title again this year according to the 2010 WCC Cross Country Preseason Coaches Poll. The Portland men earned the maximum 49 points, securing the first place vote from all other seven coaches in the conference, while the San Francisco women's team garnered 48 points and six first place votes.

The Portland Pilots have won the last 31 WCC Men's Cross Country Championships, the longest active streak for any cross country program in the country. Last season, Portland junior Alfred Kipchumba, a unanimous 2010 preseason all-conference selection, took first at the WCC Championships by running the 8K course in 24:20, breaking the previous record by 33 seconds. Four more Pilot runners join Kipchumba on the preseason all-conference list, three of whom finished in the Top 10 at the 2009 WCC Championships: redshirt sophomore Jared Bassett, sophomore Lars Erik Malde, and redshirt junior Matthew Frerker. Remaining preseason all-conference selection Pilot sophomore Trevor Dunbar did not compete at the 2009 WCC Championships but won the USA Junior Cross Country Championships and represented the USA at the IAAF World Cross Country Junior Championships.

Loyola Marymount and San Francisco tied for second in the preseason coaches poll with 40 points for the second year in a row. Lion sophomore Sterling Lockert was named to the preseason all-conference team, while San Francisco junior Ganbileg Bor secured a spot on the all-conference team as well. Santa Clara took fourth and had two runners named to the all-conference team in senior Robbie Reid and senior Chris Sampson, while Gonzaga was fifth and had sophomore Chris Boyle earn a spot on the preseason All-WCC team. San Diego, Pepperdine and Saint Mary's rounded out the poll.

On the women's side, San Francisco made history at last year's meet, winning its first-ever conference championship as four runners finished in the Top 10. All four of those runners were named to the 2009 All-WCC First Team and this year's preseason all-conference team in sophomore Eva Krchova, sophomore Heather Zytkewicz, junior Hillary Kigar and senior Nicole Bowler.

Portland received a total of 41 points to take second in the poll with junior Lyndy Davis being named to the preseason all-conference team, while Loyola Marymount was third with 40 points. The Lions had both 2008 WCC Champion and redshirt junior Tara Erdmann and sophomore Sheree Shea named to the preseason all-conference team. Like their male counterparts, the Santa Clara women were selected fourth and had two runners, 2009 WCC individual champion and senior Stephanie Wilson and sophomore Mary Reynolds, named to the preseason all-conference team. Gonzaga, Pepperdine, San Diego and Saint Mary's rounded out the poll and Pepperdine senior Chelsea Wishard was named to the preseason all-conference team.

The 2010 season will get underway on Wednesday, September 1 with the Pepperdine men's and women's teams competing at the Malibu Oceanside Invitational. The 2010 WCC Cross Country Championships take place at the Crystal Springs Cross Country Course in Belmont, California, on Saturday, October 30.

WCC Preseason Coaches Poll
1. Portland - 49 (7)
2. Loyola Marymount - 40
2. San Francisco - 40 (1)
4. Santa Clara - 31
5. Gonzaga - 25
6. San Diego - 16
7. Pepperdine - 15
8. Saint Mary's - 8
(First place votes)

WCC Preseason All-Conference Team
Alfred Kipchumba, POR
Chris Boyle, GON
Chris Sampson, SCU
Ganbileg Bor, USF
Jared Bassett, POR
Lars Erik Malde, POR
Matt Frerker, POR
Robbie Reid, SCU
Sterling Lockert, LMU
Trevor Dunbar, POR

WCC Preseason Coaches Poll
1. San Francisco - 48 (6)
2. Portland - 41 (1)
3. Loyola Marymount - 40 (1)
4. Santa Clara - 30
5. Gonzaga - 21
6. Pepperdine - 20
7. San Diego - 17
8. Saint Mary's - 7
(First place votes)

WCC Preseason All-Conference Team
Chelsea Wishard, PEP
Eva Krchova, USF
Heather Zytkewicz, USF
Hillary Kigar, USF
Lyndy Davis, POR
Mary Reynolds, SCU
Nicole Bowler, USF
Sheree Shea, LMU
Stephanie Wilson, SCU
Tara Erdmann, LMU