{{ article.title }}

Portland Sweeps 2006 WCC Cross Country Championships

Oct. 28, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Complete Men's Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Complete Women's Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Belmont, Calif. - The University of Portland swept the WCC Cross Country Championships for the fifth straight year as the Pilot men's and women's teams captured conference titles at the Crystal Springs Course in Belmont, CA on Saturday. The men's squad extended its remarkable run of league crowns to 28 straight seasons, while the women's team took first place for the fifth straight season and the 10th time in the last 11 years. This year's women's competition marked the first time in WCC Championship history that the race was run over a 6K course.

Four Portland runners finished among the top five to lead the UP men's team to the championship. Individual champion Mike Quackenbush led the way for the Pilots, notching a time of 25:19 to become the 28th straight Portland harrier to take first place at the WCC Championship. Senior Brendan Robinson captured third place with a time of 25:52, while Tommy Betterbed earned WCC Freshman of the Year honors by finishing first among first year runners in fourth place with a 25:55 mark. Junior Steven Ault took fifth place for the Pilots, traversing the 8K course in 25:57, and sophomore Kevin Krohn captured 11th place with a time of 26:13.

San Francisco finished in second place with a team score of 63, matching the Dons' all-time best team performance at the WCC Championship. Three USF runners finished among the top-10, with juniors Kenny Sparks and Cheyne Inman recording times of 26:04 and 26:05 to finish seventh and eighth, respectively. Chris Gumbs led Santa Clara to a third place finish, capturing sixth place with an 8K time of 26:03, while Gonzaga's Joe Miller matched a program-best WCC Championship time of 25:28 to finish in second place and lead the Zags to a fourth place team finish. Loyola Marymount took fifth place with a team score of 105 and were led by junior Nicholas Brennan, who finished ninth with a time of 26:05. Pepperdine finished sixth with a team score of 177, while San Diego and Saint Mary's rounded out the men's team standings in seventh and eighth place, respectively.

Three Pilot runners posted top-4 finishes on the women's side as Portland stormed to its 17th WCC title with a team score of 36. Sifrash Ademe was the top UP finisher in second place with a mark of 22:34 and was followed closely by teammates Bobeya Krishnek (22:34) and Dana Morgan, who earned WCC Freshman of the Year honors by being the top finishing first year runner with a time of 22:35 to capture fourth place. Natalie Hemphill rounded out the UP harriers in the top-10, as the freshman took 10th place with a 23:14 time.

Laura Mickelson became just the third LMU runner to take first place at the WCC Championship, logging a time of 21:16 on the 6K course to complete the race 1:18 ahead of the second place finisher, leading the Lions to a third place finish. San Francisco edged LMU for second place by one point, matching the 2004 Dons team for the program's highest-ever finish at the WCC Championship. Junior Jennifer Hartford was USF's top finisher in fifth place with a time of 22:45, while junior Lucy Miller rounded out the Dons in the top-10 with a seventh place showing (23:08). Santa Clara took fourth place in the team standings with a score of 75, while senior Kyla Maher led Pepperdine to a fifth place finish by capturing eighth place in the individual race with a time of 23:13. Saint Mary's edged Gonzaga for sixth place by a single point, with the Gaels notching a 188 team score for their highest finish since a fifth place showing in 2001. San Diego finished eighth for the first time since 1991 with a team score of 204.

The top 10 finishers in each race earned All-WCC honors, while the No. 11-15 finishers received All-WCC honorable mention recognition. Portland swept the WCC Coach of the Year honors in addition to the Freshman of the Year awards, with men's coach Rob Conner and women's coach Ian Solof receiving accolades.

2006 WCC Cross Country Championship Team Results

1. Portland - 24
2. San Francisco - 63
3. Santa Clara - 75
4. Gonzaga - 84
5. Loyola Marymount - 105
6. Pepperdine - 177
7. San Diego - 203
8. Saint Mary's - 242

1. Portland - 36
2. San Francisco - 52
3. Loyola Marymount - 53
4. Santa Clara - 94
5. Pepperdine - 120
6. Saint Mary's - 188
7. Gonzaga - 189
8. San Diego - 204