{{ article.title }}

USD Harriers Finish Season At WCC Championship

Oct. 29, 2007

BELMONT, Calif. - The University of Portland swept the WCC Cross Country Championships for the sixth straight year, as the Pilot men's and women's teams captured conference titles at the Crystal Springs Course in Belmont, CA on Saturday. The Toreros finished in 8th place tallying 193 points while the women posted a 7th place finish with 204 points.

Junior Chris Jacobs was recorded a team high 9th place overall and was the only Torero to finish in the top 10 with a time of 25:39. Freshman Kevin O'Malley finished 2nd for the Toreros, 38th overall with a time of 27:20. Freshman Erica Enyon finished first for the USD women and 32nd overall for USD with a time of 23.48. Right behind her was teammate Laura Wells in 36th place overall in a time of 24:09.

For the men's race, Loyola Marymount finished in second place with a team score of 59, matching the Lions' highest finish in the men's standings that was set in 1981. Junior Trevor Wiseman set an LMU WCC Championship record with an 8K time of 25:30 to capture fifth place overall. Mike Delaurenti led Santa Clara to a third place team finish, capturing third place with a time of 25:27, marking the fastest 8K time for a Bronco harrier in WCC Championship history. San Francisco, paced by Inman's program-record time, took fourth place with a team score of 105, while Pepperdine was led to a fifth place showing by the 10th place finish of senior Chris Ogle, who notched a time of 25:39. Saint Mary's snagged the sixth place spot with 172 points, as junior Mario Mendoza finished 12th with a time of 25:44, setting an SMC program-best 8K time at the WCC Championship. Gonzaga and San Diego rounded out the men's team standings in seventh and eighth place, respectively.

In the women's race, San Francisco captured a second place finish for the second straight season with program-record 43 team points. Five Don harriers placed among the top-12 finishers, led by senior Jennifer Hartford's fourth place time of 21:18. Laura Mickelson, last year's individual champion, took second with a time of 20:56 to lead Loyola Marymount to a third place team finish, while fellow Lion Tara Erdmann earned WCC Freshman of the Year honors following a fifth place showing at 21:26. Santa Clara freshman Melissa Conlin took eighth place with a 21:48 mark, leading the Broncos to a fourth place team finish with 83 points. Pepperdine posted a score of 153 to finish in fifth place, and Gonzaga nabbed the sixth place spot with team score of 192. San Diego and Saint Mary's rounded out the women's standings in seventh and eighth place, respectively.

The top 10 finishers in each race earned All-WCC honors, while the No. 11-15 finishers received All-WCC honorable mention recognition. Portland's Rob Conner shared WCC Coach of the Year recognition with Loyola Marymount's Scott Guerrero on the men's side, while Portland's Ian Solof took home Coach of the Year recognition on the women's side. Both Pilot coaches also took home Coach of the Year accolades last season.

2007 WCC Cross Country Championship Individual Results for USD9 112 Chris Jacobs JR SAN DIEGO 25:39 5:1038 116 Kevin O'Malley FR SAN DIEGO 27:20 5:3045 115 Marcus Lopez SO SAN DIEGO 28:06 5:4050 110 Clint Gordon FR SAN DIEGO 29:12 5:5351 111 Mark Hubbard JR SAN DIEGO 29:17 5:5454 109 Louis Barrios JR SAN DIEGO 30:30 6:0956 113 Thomas Jasper FR SAN DIEGO 31:58 6:26

32 98 Erica Eynon FR SAN DIEGO 23:48 6:2336 108 Laura Wells FR SAN DIEGO 24:09 6:2943 96 Sarah Coxhead JR SAN DIEGO 24:54 6:4146 104 Nicole Riley FR SAN DIEGO 24:56 6:4247 102 Jen Lagedrost SR SAN DIEGO 24:57 6:4250 100 Megan Kachigan SO SAN DIEGO 26:44 7:1151 101 Sally Kallet FR SAN DIEGO 27:20 7:20

2007 WCC Cross Country Championship Team Results

MEN1. Portland - 322. Loyola Marymount - 593. Santa Clara - 724. San Francisco - 1055. Pepperdine - 1526. Saint Mary's - 1727. Gonzaga - 1768. San Diego - 193

Women1. Portland - 332. San Francisco - 433. Loyola Marymount - 684. Santa Clara - 835. Pepperdine - 1536. Gonzaga - 1927. San Diego - 2048. Saint Mary's - 207