{{ article.title }}

BYU Captures 2011 WCC Men's Cross Country Championship

Oct. 29, 2011

Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader | WCC on Twitter | WCC on Facebook

BYU's Miles Batty discusses his win | BYU head coach Eye Eyestone discusses winning WCC title

Watch the video from the Rookie Run after the race!

BELMONT, Calif. -- Competing in its first-ever West Coast Conference championship event, Brigham Young University edged the University of Portland, 25 to 32, to capture the 2011 WCC Men's Cross Country Championship on a picture-perfect morning at Crystal Springs Course. BYU's victory ended the Pilots' incredible run of 32-straight West Coast Conference men's titles.

Led by individual champion Miles Batty, the Cougars had four of the top seven runners in the race. Batty's time of 23:47 shattered the old course record, formerly held by Portland's Alfred Kipchumba - who ran a 24:20 in 2009.

"It feels great to come out of here with a win," Batty told WCCsports.com after the race. "It's our first year [in the WCC] and we started out on the right foot. It's great to walk out of here with a team championship and an individual title."

Other BYU finishers in the top ten included Jared Ward, who finished fourth overall at 24:03; Rex Shields (5th, 24:08; Alden Bahr (7th, 24:13); and Tylor Thatcher (8th, 24:22).

"It was a good day for us," said BYU head coach Ed Eyestone. "We knew that Portland was going to be tough. I had confidence in my team and I'm very happy with our depth. I think that sets us up well going into our regional."

Winners of the previous 26 WCC men's titles at Crystal Springs, Portland finished second overall. The Pilots were led by Alfred Kipchumba and Trevor Dunbar. Kipchumba, the former course record-holder, finished second overall with a time of 23:49. Dunbar was third with a time of 23:51. Joash Osoro (6th, 24:11) and Lars Erik Malde (9th, 24:32) also posted top 10 finishes for Portland.

The University of San Francisco finished third as a team, with 119 points. The Dons were led by Jose Madera, who finished 17th overall with a time of 24:55.

The top 10 finishers collected All-WCC honors, with the 11th through 15th place finishers garnering All-WCC Honorable Mention. Batty was named WCC Runner of the Year and BYU's Steve Flint is the conference's Freshman of the Year. BYU's Ed Eyestone was voted WCC Coach of the Year by his fellow head coaches.

2011 West Coast Conference Men's Cross Country Championship (8K)
Crystal Springs Course
Belmont, Calif.

Team Scores
1.BYU 25
2.Portland 32
3.San Francisco 119
4.Santa Clara 122
5.Loyola Marymount 131
6.Gonzaga 140
7.Saint Mary's 220
8.San Diego 249
9.Pepperdine 252

Top Individual Finishers
1. Miles Batty (BYU), 23:47*; 2. Alfred Kipchumba (Portland), 23:49; 3. Trevor Dunbar (Portland), 23:51; 4. Jared Ward (BYU), 24:03; 5. Rex Shields (BYU), 24:08; 6. Joash Osoro (Portland), 24:11; 7. Alden Bahr (BYU), 24:13; 8. Tylor Thatcher (BYU), 24:22; 9. Lars Erik Malde (Portland), 24:32; 10. Jason Witt (BYU), 24:41; 11. Steve Flint (BYU), 24:43; 12. David Perry (Portland), 24:44; 13. Ben Demaree (Santa Clara), 24:48; 14. Scott Fauble (Portland), 24:49; 15. Robbie Reid (Santa Clara), 24:51; 16. Jared Bassett (Portland), 24:53; 17. Jose Madera (San Francisco), 24:55; 18. Jeremy Grace (San Francisco), 24:59; 19. Matt Frerker (Portland), 25:03; 20. William Kincaid (Portland), 25:05.
*New course record

2011 Men's Cross Country All-West Coast Conference Team
Alden Bahr, BYU, So.
Miles Batty, BYU, Sr.
Trevor Dunbar, Portland, Jr.
Alfred Kipchumba, Portland, Sr.
Lars Erik Malde, Portland, Jr.
Joash Osoro, Portland, Jr.
Rex Shields, BYU, Jr.
Tylor Thatcher, BYU, So.
Jared Ward, BYU, So.
Jason Witt, BYU, So.

Honorable Mention
Ben Demaree, Santa Clara, So.
Scott Fauble, Portland, Fr.
Steve Flint, BYU, Fr.
David Perry, Portland, Fr.
Robbie Reid, Santa Clara, Sr.

WCC Individual Champion
Miles Batty, BYU, Sr.

WCC Men's Coach of the Year
Ed Eyestone, BYU

WCC Freshman of the Year
Steve Flint, BYU

Photography: Kyle Terada