{{ article.title }}

Baseball Media Day Set for February 13 in Long Beach

Jan. 2, 2008

LONG BEACH, Calif. - Thirteen area college baseballcoaches and their players will be available for thesixth annual Southern Californai College BaseballMedia Day on Wednesday, February 13 starting at 9:30a.m. at the Walter Pyramid. The area's collegebaseball fix will leadoff the season, which now has auniform start date of February 22. The DirtbagBaseball program will serve as the host and provide acatered lunch to the media following the event.

From San Luis Opispo to San Diego, professionalbaseball comes from Southern California. Hall ofFamers Jackie Robinson (UCLA), Ozzie Smith (Cal Poly),Tony Gwynn (San Diego State) and Tom Seaver (USC) allplayed at area schools and over 150 former players arein the professional circuit.. Gwynn is currently thehead coach for San Diego State and will be at theevent.

In the collegiate setting, area teams have made 46College World Series apperances (USC-21, Cal StateFullerton-15, Long Beach State-4, Pepperdine-2,UCLA-2, Loyola Marymount-1, UC Irvine-1) and won 21national championships (USC-12, Cal State Fullerton-4,Pepperdine-1, UC Riverside-2 at D-II, CS Northridge-2at D-II). The Titans and Anteaters, both made it toOmaha last season.

This year seven, San Diego (No. 7), CS Fullerton (No.16), Long Beach State (No. 17), UCLA (No. 18), UCIrvine (No. 26), Pepperdine (No. 29), UC Riverside(No. 35), are all ranked in Collegiate Baseball'stop-40 pre-season poll.

Head coaches and players from Long Beach State, CalState Fullerton, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, Cal StateNorthridge, Cal Poly, UC Santa Barbara, USC, UCLA,Pepperdine, Loyola Marymount, the University of SanDiego, and San Diego State will each talk about theirteams, which will be broadcas over the web live forfans throughout the country.

Media are asked to RSVP to Niall Adler at Long BeachState, nadler@csulb.edu by January 15 to reserve aspot. Out of town media are also encouraged to attendwith accomodations for hotel rooms, available.


Jackie Robinson-UCLA, Hall of Famer
Ozzie Smith-Cal Poly, Hall of Famer
Tom Seaver, USC, Hall of Famer, Cy Young
Tony Gwynn, San Diego State, Hall of Famer, 3,000Career Hits
Mike Scott-Pepperdine, National League Cy Young
Mark McGwire-USC, Single-Season home run leader
Jason Giambi-Long Beach State, American League MVP
Bobby Crosby-Long Beach State, American League Rookieof the Year
Jered Weaver-Long Beach State, Angels Starter
Mark Prior-USC, Padres Starter
Barry Zito-USC/UC Santa Barbara, Starting Pitcher,Giants
Brady Clark-San Diego, Padres Outfielder
Troy Glauss-UCLA, World Series MVP, Angels
Eric Karros-UCLA, All-Star First Baseman
Phil Nevin-CS Fullerton, All-Star
Mark Kotsay-CS Fullerton, A's Outfielder
Adam Kennedy-CS Northridge, All-Star Second Baseman,Cardinals
Troy Percival, UC Riverside, All-Star Reliever, Angels
Brady Anderson, UC Irvine, All-Star Outfielder,Orioles
Chris Spier, UCSB, 13-year Major Leaguer
Billy Bean, Loyola Marymount