{{ article.title }}

University of San Diego picked to win WCC baseball crown

Feb. 6, 2013

| WCC on Facebook | WCC coaches preview 2013 | WCC on Instagram

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- The University of San Diego has been selected to win the 2013 West Coast Conference baseball championship, in a preseason poll of the WCC's nine head coaches. The Toreros earned six of eight possible first-place votes and 62 overall points in the poll. Last year's West Coast Conference champion, Pepperdine University, earned 53 points and picked up two first place votes in the annual survey.

Gonzaga University garnered a first place vote and tallied 49 points to finish third in the poll. Loyola Marymount University captured 47 points to finish fourth. The University of San Francisco was selected fifth with 39 points, while BYU was tabbed sixth with 24 points. The University of Portland (19 points), Santa Clara University (16 points), and Saint Mary's College (15 points) rounded out the poll.

In all, seven of the nine WCC schools are represented on the preseason All-West Coast Conference team, led by Loyola Marymount with four selections, and Gonzaga with three. This year's Preseason All-WCC Team were All-West Coast Conference selections last year, led by 2012 Pitcher of the Year Marco Gonzales (Gonzaga) and Freshman of the Year Travis Radke (Portland).

The 2013 season begins on Friday, February 15, with all nine West Coast Conference teams in action. For a complete interactive schedule, please visit WCCsports.com, and follow @WCCsports on Twitter for in-game updates throughout the season.


Team (First Place Votes) Points
San Diego (6) 62
Pepperdine (2) 53
Gonzaga (1) 49
Loyola Marymount 47
San Francisco 39
BYU> 24
Portland 19
Santa Clara 16
Saint Mary's 15


Player School Year Position
Kris Bryant San Diego Jr. 3B/1B
Andrew Daniel San Diego So. IF
Austin Davidson Pepperdine So. IF
Clayton Eslick Gonzaga Sr. IF
Turner Gill Portland Jr. IF/OF
Marco Gonzales Gonzaga Jr. IF
Greg Harisis Santa Clara Jr. IF/OF
Matt Lowenstein Loyola Marymount Sr. OF
Justin Maffei San Francisco Sr. OF
Colton Plaia Loyola Marymount Sr. C
Pitcher School Year Throws
Abe Bobb San Francisco Jr. RHP
Marco Gonzales Gonzaga Jr. LHP
Trevor Megill Loyola Marymount So. RHP
Travis Radke Portland So. LHP
Colin Welmon Loyola Marymount So. RHP