{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces 2015 Baseball Preseason Poll and All-WCC Team

Feb. 11, 2015

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook


2015 WCC Baseball Preseason Poll   Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - After making a run to the title game of the 2014 West Coast Conference Tournament Championship, Loyola Marymount University was picked to win it all in 2015 in the preseason poll of the WCC's 10 head coaches. The Lions earned six of 10 possible first-place votes and 77 overall points in the poll.

Pepperdine University, the 2014 WCC Champions, earned 72 points and picked up three first place votes. The Waves rolled to the first Super Regional berth in WCC history last season, falling tantalizingly short of qualifying for the program's third trip to the College World Series.

The University of San Diego collected 63 points to go along with the remaining first place vote and was picked to finish third. Gonzaga University, a 2014 WCC Tournament participant, was tabbed fourth with 56 votes. The University of the Pacific rounded out the top-five teams in the survey with 45 votes.

Brigham Young University was tabbed sixth with 40 points. Santa Clara University (38), University of San Francisco (31), Saint Mary's College (18) and University of Portland (10) rounded out the poll.

All told, eight of the 10 WCC schools are represented on the preseason All-West Coast Conference team, led by Loyola Marymount which placed two position players and a pitcher on the squad. BYU, Gonzaga, Pacific, San Diego and Santa Clara each placed two on the preseason list.

This year's preseason team features one position player and two pitchers who were named to the 2014 advance list. No fewer than nine of the 10 position players and four of five pitchers captured All-WCC honors last season, including a pair of LMU sophomore major award winners - IF David Fletcher (Defensive Player of the Year) and Austin Miller (Freshman of the Year),

The 2015 season begins on Friday, February 13, with all 10 West Coast Conference teams in action. For a complete interactive schedule, please visit WCCsports.com, and follow @WCCsports on Twitter for updates throughout the season.

The 2015 West Coast Conference Baseball Championship will be held at Banner Island Ballpark May 21-23 in Stockton, Calif.  DETAILS


Team (First Place Votes) Points
1. Loyola Marymount (6) 77
2. Pepperdine (3) 72
3. San Diego (1) 63
4. Gonzaga 56
5. Pacific 45
6. BYU 40
7. Santa Clara 38
8. San Francisco 31
9. Saint Mary's 18
10. Portland 10


Player School Year Position
Derek Atkinson San Francisco Sr. OF
David Fletcher Loyola Marymount So. IF
Jesse Jenner San Diego Sr. C
Brennon Lund BYU So. OF
Austin Miller Loyola Marymount So. OF
Hutton Moyer Pepperdine Jr. IF
Dillon Robinson BYU Sr. IF
Brett Sullivan Pacific Jr. IF
Jose Vizcaino Jr. Santa Clara Jr. IF
Caleb Wood Gonzaga Jr. UTL
Pitcher School Year Throws
Brandon Bailey Gonzaga So. RHP
P.J. Conlon San Diego Jr. LHP
Jake Jenkins Pacific Jr. RHP
Reece Karalus Santa Clara Jr. RHP
Colin Welmon Loyola Marymount Sr. RHP