{{ article.title }}

San Diego's Kyle Holder Named to Brooks Wallace Award Watch List

April 28, 2014

| WCC on Facebook | TheW.tv  


LUBBOCK, Texas -- Conferences large and small from across the country are represented on the first watch list for the 2014 Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award. The University of San Diego's sophomore shortstop Kyle Holder highlights this list.

The Brooks Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation's top shortstop and will be presented during the National College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions on June 28 in Lubbock, Texas.

"The ACC is a great conference, and the six players from that conference absolutely deserve to be recognized for their play so far this season," said Tyler Young, Wallace Award co-chair. "We're also excited to have 16 different conferences represented on this initial list."

In addition to the ACC representation, other conferences with multiple representatives include the SEC with five, the Big 12 with four and the Big West with three.

North Carolina's Michael Russell has the top batting average among the watch list representatives with a .388 average, 12 doubles, one triple and three home runs.

Kyle Holder, a sophomore at the University of San Diego, has a .984 fielding percentage in 40 games. Texas Tech's Tim Proudfoot has a 1.000 fielding percentage but has played in only 21 games after missing playing time with an injury.

"These young men have put up impressive numbers in two months," said Larry Wallace, award co-chair. "There's nearly a month left in the regular season, and it will be interesting to see what the rest of the season brings."

Pepperdine's Zach Vincej won the 2012 Brooks Wallace Award - the first to go to a West Coast Conference student-athlete in the five-year history of the award.

From USDToreros.com