{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine's Enright And San Diego's Matusz Named Semifinalists for Roger Clemens Award

May 17, 2007

Houston, Texas - Pepperdine right-hander Barry Enright and San Diego left-hander Brian Matusz were named among the 10 semifinalists for the 2007 Roger Clemens Award, as announced by the Greater Houston Baseball Association on Thursday. This year's award, given annually to college baseball's top pitcher, will be presented on July 11 at the Inter-Continental Hotel in Houston.

Joining Enright and Matusz on the list are Adrian Alaniz of Texas, Preston Guilmet of Arizona, Bryan Henry of Florida State, Adam Mills of Charlotte, Kyle Nicholson of Texas A&M, David Price of Vanderbilt, Nick Schmidt of Arkansas, and Jacob Thompson of Virginia. This group includes three seniors, four juniors and three sophomores. Six of the 10 throw right-handed.

Enright enters the final weekend of the regular season with an 11-4 overall record and an impressive 1.78 ERA while making 16 starts. His win total ties for fourth in the country while his ERA ranks 13th nationally. In 116.0 innings pitched, Enright has allowed 103 hits, 23 earned runs and walked 12 while striking out a single-season career-high 77 batters. He leads the West Coast Conference in wins, ERA, games started and fewest walks allowed per nine innings (0.93) and is second in innings pitched.

Matusz, a native of Cave Creek, Ariz., just became San Diego's new single-season leader in strikeouts with 152 after posting 11 strikeouts in picking up his 10th win of the season this past weekend against Santa Clara University. On the season, Matusz is 10-2 with a team-leading 2.43 ERA. Matusz has also been named a semi finalist for the Golden Spikes award, presented to the nation's top collegiate player.

The 10 pitchers were selected during the first round of voting, which ended on May 14. Voters include all Division 1 head baseball coaches, a selection of national media who cover collegiate baseball, the 16 winners of the R. E. "Bob" Smith Award, which was presented to the top player in the country from 1988-2003, and the 10 previous finalists for the Clemens Award.

The second round of voting will begin on May 28, with the announcement of the three finalists set for June 7. Jered Weaver of Long Beach State (2004), Luke Hochevar of Tennessee (2005) and Andrew Miller (North Carolina) were the first three winners of the Clemens Award.

The Roger Clemens Award was named after future Hall of Famer Roger Clemens, who began his march to stardom while leading the University of Texas to the College World Series title in 1983. As a professional, Clemens has won 348 games (eighth best in history), fanned more than 4,600 batters and won and seven Cy Young Awards, emblematic as the top pitcher in his league. The Roger Clemens Award is the only award of its kind, honoring the finest pitchers in college baseball.

The event is administered by the Greater Houston Baseball Association, who has donated more than $300,000 to the charities from the net proceeds from the first three dinners. The GHBA is a non-profit 501.3 (C) organization dedicated to the growth of amateur baseball in the Houston area.

Tickets for the 2007 Roger Clemens Award are now on sale. For more information, please call the Greater Houston Baseball Association at (713) 739-0505 or write to The Roger Clemens Award, 2550 S. Sam Houston Parkway West, Houston, TX 77047.