{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces 2014 Baseball All-Conference Team

May 20, 2014

| WCC on Facebook | TheW.tv  


2014 All-WCC Baseball Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - After ranking in the top-three of nearly every offensive category, San Diego's Connor Joe captured West Coast Conference Player of the Year honors. Junior Pepperdine lefthander Aaron Brown earned conference Pitcher of the Year accolades, while first-year star Austin Miller of Loyola Marymount collected the Freshman of the Year award. Freshman infielder David Fletcher captured Defensive Player of the Year honors, while Pepperdine's Steve Rodriguez was selected as Coach of the Year by his peers. All five individual awards - along with the All-West Coast Conference First and Freshman Teams - were voted on solely by the league's 10 head coaches.

Connor Joe is the sixth San Diego student-athlete to capture West Coast Conference Player of the Year honors since 2007. Joe hit .378 with 12 doubles, six home runs and 28 RBI during league play. The junior turned in a .667 slugging percentage, a .481 on base percentage and batted .750 with bases loaded and .372 with runners aboard. Joe struck out just 12 times in 111 league plate appearances and earned 18 walks. Overall, Joe batted .367 with 21 doubles, two triples, nine home runs and led the WCC in RBI (51).

Aaron Brown turned in a career season for Pepperdine as a junior. The two-way star posted a sparkling 7-1 record with a 1.86 ERA. Opposing hitters managed a .219 batting average. In 63.0 innings, Brown allowed 13 earned runs and struck out 58 while walking 23. A two-time West Coast Conference Pitcher of the Week, Brown also produced at the plate, batting .290 with six doubles, a triple, eight home runs and 22 RBI. Brown homered in two league games he started on the mound. Brown is the first Wave honored as Pitcher of the Year since Barry Enright was tabbed in 2006.

Austin Miller enjoyed a strong freshman campaigns for the Lions. A West Coast Conference Player of the Week, Miller hit .373 with four doubles, a triple, and drove in nine while scoring 21 runs. The center fielder shared the league lead in stolen bases with 11 in 14 attempts and posted a .449 on base percentage while starting all 27 WCC contests for Loyola Marymount. Miller is the first Lion named Freshman of the Year since Matt Lowenstein was selected in 2010.

David Fletcher enjoyed a strong debut season for Loyola Marymount and collected Defensive Player of the Year honors. The second Lion freshman to earn a major award this season, Fletcher turned 21 double plays while making all 27 starts in WCC play. Fletcher produced at the plate, batting .343 with three doubles, a pair of triples and scored 15 runs. Fletcher is the second straight LMU player to collect Defensive Player of the Year honors in the three-year history of the award. Colton Plaia earned the award in 2013.

Steve Rodriguez earns his second Coach of the Year honor in the last three seasons after guiding Pepperdine to its second regular season championship since 2012 this season. The Waves posted an 18-9 conference slate (36-16 overall) and entered the final week of the regular season ranked in the top-25. The Waves posted a league-best 2.58 team ERA and opposing batters hit just .235. Three Pepperdine pitchers - Brown, senior lefthander Corey Miller and senior righthander Eric Karch - made the initial National Pitcher of the Year Watch List.

Of the 25-member All-West Coast Conference First Team, 10 are underclassmen and four are freshmen.

The first pitch of the 2014 WCC Baseball Championship is on Thursday at 3:00 p.m. PDT, when top-seed Pepperdine faces Santa Clara. That game will be followed by Loyola Marymount vs. Gonzaga at approximately 7 p.m. PDT. The first five games of the championship will be broadcast live on TheW.tv, while Saturday's Championship game will be carried live on ESPNU and on WatchESPN.


Player Yr. Pos. School
Derek Atkinson Jr. OF San Francisco
Brandon Bailey Fr. RHP Gonzaga
Aaron Brown Jr. LHP/OF Pepperdine
Payden Cawley-Lamb Sr. OF Gonzaga
DonAndre Clark Jr. OF Saint Mary's
Andrew Daniel Jr. IF San Diego
Bret Dahlson Sr. RHP Loyola Marymount
Austin Davidson Jr. IF Pepperdine
David Fletcher Fr. IF Loyola Marymount
Jake Jenkins So. RHP Pacific
Jesse Jenner Jr. C San Diego
Connor Joe Jr. IF San Diego
Reece Karalus So. RHP Santa Clara
Eric Karch Sr. RHP Pepperdine
Louie Lechich Sr. UT San Diego
Brennon Lund Fr. OF BYU
Austin Miller Fr. OF Loyola Marymount
Corey Miller Sr. RHP Pepperdine
Hutton Moyer So. IF Pepperdine
Dillon Robinson Jr. IF BYU
Brett Sullivan So. IF Pacific
Jose Vizcaino Jr. So. IF Santa Clara
Colin Welmon Jr. RHP Loyola Marymount
Caleb Wood So. IF Gonzaga
Bradley Zimmer Jr. OF San Francisco

Jeff Barker, BYU; Aaron Barnett, Pepperdine; Stevie Berman, Santa Clara; Ted Boeke, Loyola Marymount; Ryan Brockett, Saint Mary's; Josh Goossen-Brown, San Diego; Brendan Hendriks, San Francisco; Kyle Holder, San Diego; Jarrett Jarvis, BYU; Chad Kjemhus, Portland; Erik Lockwood, Pacific; Lucas Long, San Diego; Ian McLoughlin, Saint Mary's; Matt Maurer, Pepperdine; Casey Munoz, Santa Clara; Taylor Murphy, Pacific; Quinton Perry, Santa Clara; Jimmy Sinatro, Gonzaga; Jake Steffens, Santa Clara; Brock Whitney, BYU


Player Pos. School
Brandon Bailey RHP Gonzaga
Aaron Barnett C Pepperdine
Stevie Berman C Santa Clara
Ted Boeke IF Loyola Marymount
Brandon Caruso OF Pepperdine
David Fletcher IF Loyola Marymount
Nico Giarratano IF San Francisco
Manny Jefferson IF Pepperdine
Brennon Lund OF BYU
Austin Miller OF Loyola Marymount