{{ article.title }}

West Coast Conference Announces 2015 Baseball All-Academic Team

May 20, 2015

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook


2015 WCC All-Academic   Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - The West Coast Conference is pleased to announce the 2015 West Coast Conference Baseball All-Academic Team. Six student-athletes make their second straight appearance on the first team.

Four WCC student-athletes on the all-academic squad earned a spot on the 2015 CoSIDA Academic All-District 8 First Team: Pepperdine sophomore Aaron Barnett (Economics), Gonzaga senior Mitchell Gunsolus (Business), BYU senior Dillon Robinson (Economics) and San Diego junior Ben Wylly (Political Science).

David Bigelow, Gunsolus and Joey Harris of Gonzaga, Anthony Villa of Saint Mary's and Christian Cecilio of San Francisco joined Robinson as multi-year recipients for academic achievement. Pacific's Cory Popham maintained a perfect 4.0 cumulative GPA as a graduate student in Sport Science.

All told, seven West Coast Conference baseball student-athletes posted a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or better and 17 posted a GPA of 3.50 or better.

At the conclusion of each athletic season, the WCC selects an all-academic squad for each WCC-sponsored sport. To be considered, a student-athlete must maintain at least a 3.20 cumulative grade point average, while also being a significant contributor to his team. No fewer than 34 WCC student-athletes met the academic criteria for baseball.


Name School Class GPA Major
Aaron Barnett Pepperdine So. 3.71 Economics
David Bigelow Gonzaga Sr. 3.85 MBA
Christian Cecilio San Francisco Sr. 3.59 Finance
Michael Eaton San Francisco Jr. 3.69 Finance
Turner Gill Portland Grad. 3.85 Education
Mitchell Gunsolus Gonzaga Sr. 3.45 Business
Joey Harris Gonzaga Jr. 3.59 Business Law
Jimmy Jack Loyola Marymount Sr. 3.75 Film & TV Production
Nate Nolan Saint Mary's So. 3.75 Economics
Cory Popham Pacific Grad. 4.00 Sport Science
Dillon Robinson BYU Sr. 3.59 Economics
Anthony Villa Saint Mary's Jr. 3.56 Business Administration
Ben Wylly San Diego Jr. 3.95 Political Science

Derek Atkinson, San Francisco; Brandon Bailey, Gonzaga; Sam Brown, Gonzaga; Tanner Chauncey, BYU; P.J. Conlon, San Diego; David Dellaserra, Saint Mary's; Kevin Glomb, Loyola Marymount; Brendan Hendricks, San Francisco; Brandon Horth, Loyola Marymount; Andy Isom, BYU; Taylor Jones, Gonzaga; Cory LeBrun, Gonzaga; Cody Lenahan, Portland; Jackson Lockwood, Portland; Joe Murray, Loyola Marymount; Matt Narahara, San Francisco; Cameron Neff, Saint Mary's; Alden Stinnett, San Diego; Colton Waltner, San Diego; Colin Welmon, Loyola Marymount; Steven Wilson, Santa Clara; J.P. Yakel, Pacific