{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces 2013 All-Conference Baseball Team

May 22, 2013

Complete Release Get Acrobat Reader | | CHAMPIONSHIP CENTRAL | Watch WCC Baseball LIVE!

SAN BRUNO, Calif. --- San Diego junior third baseman Kris Bryant and Gonzaga junior left-handed pitcher/first baseman Marco Gonzales have been named the 2013 West Coast Conference Co-Players of the Year. Gonzales' teammate Tyler Olson was named the West Coast Conference Pitcher of the Year, and Bulldogs head coach Mark Machtolf was voted WCC Coach of the Year by his peers. Loyola Marymount senior catcher Colton Plaia was recognized as the West Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year, and BYU outfielder Jacob Hannemann garnered WCC Freshman of the Year accolades. Based on conference play, the awards are voted on by the league's nine head coaches.

San Diego junior Kris Bryant has put together a season to remember, hitting .326 with 13 home runs and 28 runs driven in during conference play. He earned WCC Co-Player of the Year honors after compiling an .876 slugging percentage against WCC opponents, while reaching base in 50% of his conference plate appearances. Overall in 2013, Bryant leads the nation with 30 home runs, 57 walks, and 72 runs scored through May 19.

Gonzaga junior Marco Gonzales earned Co-Player of the Year recognition after establishing himself as one of the finest two-way players in the nation. Gonzales started eight games on the mound during West Coast Conference play, posting a 3-1 record and a 3.35 earned run average. At the plate, the Zags' first baseman hit .325, driving in nine runs and scoring eight against WCC opponents.

Gonzales and Bryant were Co-Players and Co-Freshmen of the Year in 2011, and Gonzales was the WCC's Pitcher of the Year last season.

Gonzaga senior Tyler Olson was selected West Coast Conference Pitcher of the Year in 2013 after putting together a sensational campaign on the mound. In eight conference starts, Olson posted a 7-1 record with a 2.35 earned run average and three complete games. Olson allowed just 50 hits and 15 earned runs over 57.1 innings, striking out 50 and walking just 14. Olson is the fourth Bulldog to earn WCC Pitcher of the Year honors in the last five years, joining Marco Gonzales last year, Ryan Carpenter in 2011 and Matt Fields in 2009.

Loyola Marymount senior catcher Colton Plaia was named the 2013 West Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year. As the Lions' starting backstop, Plaia led the West Coast Conference with 162 putouts, and gunned down nine would-be base stealers. Plaia did not commit an error during WCC play. He is the first LMU player to be named Defensive Player of the Year - an award that has been handed out since 2008.

BYU outfielder Jacob Hannemann is the 2013 West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year. Hannemann led all WCC freshmen with a .380 batting average during WCC play, ripping 15 extra-base hits and scoring 26 runs. Hannemann slugged .630, posted a .426 on-base percentage, and stole seven bases in eight attempts against WCC opponents. Hannemann is the first Cougar to earn Freshman of the Year accolades from the WCC head coaches.

After leading his team to its first West Coast Conference title since 2009, Gonzaga head coach Mark Machtolf has been named the 2013 WCC Coach of the Year by his peers. It is the second such honor for Machtolf - who also won in 2009 - and the third all-time for the Gonzaga program (Steve Hertz, 2001). After being picked to finish third in the coaches' pre-season poll, the 2013 Bulldogs posted an 18-6 West Coast Conference record en route to capturing the conference title and earning the top seed at the WCC championship, held later this week.

The complete 2013 All-West Coast Conference Team follows.


Player School Year Position
Abe Bobb San Francisco Jr. RHP
Jaycob Brugman BYU Jr. OF
Kris Bryant San Diego Jr. 3B
PJ Conlon San Diego Fr. LHP
Austin Davidson Pepperdine So. 3B
Collin Ferguson Saint Mary's So. 1B
Brian Frattali Portland Sr. 1B
Marco Gonzales Gonzaga Jr. LHP/1B
Aaron Griffin Loyola Marymount Sr. RHP
Jacob Hannemann BYU Fr. OF
Haden Hinkle San Francisco Sr. RHP
Connor Joe San Diego So. IF
Brenden Kalfus Saint Mary's Sr. RF
Adam Law BYU Jr. 3B
Cory Lebrun Gonzaga So. OF
Jeff Melby Portland Sr. 3B
Jordan Mills Saint Mary's Jr. LHP
Tyler Olson Gonzaga Sr. LHP
Colton Plaia Loyola Marymount Sr. C
AJ Robinson San Diego Sr. OF
Zachary Turner San Francisco Jr. 1B/DH
Colin Welmon Loyola Marymount So. RHP
Brock Whitney BYU Jr. 1B
Kolten Yamaguchi Pepperdine So. C
Bradley Zimmer San Francisco So. OF

Honorable Mention: Ricky Boas, Saint Mary's; Alex Bonczyk, Gonzaga; Aaron Brown, Pepperdine; Adam Cimber, San Francisco; David Edwards, Loyola Marymount; Scott Frazier, Pepperdine; Zac Fujimoto, Loyola Marymount; Austin Green, San Diego; Ben Grubb, Portland; Drew Hacker, Pepperdine; Cody Lenahan, Portland; Ranny Lowe, Pepperdine; Justin Maffei, San Francisco; Jason Mahood, San Francisco; Cullen Mahoney, Loyola Marymount; Patrick McGrath, Loyola Marymount; Markus Melgosa, Saint Mary's; Sam Meyer, Pepperdine; Matt Milke, BYU; Corey Miller, Pepperdine; Hayden Nielsen, BYU; Desmond Poulson, BYU; Arturo Reyes, Gonzaga; Michael Swanner, Pepperdine; Caleb Wood, Gonzaga


Player School Position
PJ Conlon San Diego LHP
Thomas Cox San Francisco LHP
Jacob Hannemann BYU OF
Hayden Nielsen BYU IF
Ryan Matranga San Francisco C
Jackson McClelland Pepperdine RHP
Hutton Moyer Pepperdine IF
Billy Sahlinger Portland RHP
Anthony Villa Saint Mary's 3B
Caleb Wood Gonzaga OF

Co-Players of the Year:
Kris Bryant, San Diego; Marco Gonzales, Gonzaga

Pitcher of the Year:
Tyler Olson, Gonzaga

Defensive Player of the Year:
Colton Plaia, Loyola Marymount

Freshman of the Year:
Jacob Hannemann, BYU

Coach of the Year:
Mark Machtolf, Gonzaga