{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces All-Conference Baseball Honors

May 23, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, Calif. - The University of San Diego was rewarded for capturing the WCC regular season title, as senior Shane Buschini was named WCC Player of the Year and Head Coach Rich Hill earned WCC Coach of the Year recognition. Gonzaga right-hander Clayton Mortensen was tabbed for WCC Pitcher of the Year honors, and LMU's Angelo Songco was named WCC Freshman of the Year.

Buschini, an All-WCC first team selection for the second time in his career, becomes just the third Torero to earn WCC Player of the Year honors and the first since WCC/Rawlings 40th Anniversary Team honoree Kevin Herde took home the award in 1993. The San Ramon, CA native turned in a dominant senior campaign, leading the conference with 13 home runs and collecting 55 RBI to rank second in the league. Buschini was even more dominant against conference opponents, pacing the circuit in batting (.418), RBI (26), total bases (55), on base percentage (.500), and slugging percentage (.696) during league play.

Mortensen becomes the first Gonzaga hurler to take home WCC Pitcher of the Year honors after leading the Zags to their first WCC Championship Series since 2001. The senior was outstanding in conference play, posting a perfect 6-0 record in seven starts against league competition. The Rexburg, ID native brandished a 1.60 ERA that ranked second in conference play, and struck out a circuit-best 63 WCC batters. Mortensen notched an 8-2 mark overall, and struck out 116 batters on the season, the fourth-highest single-season total in Gonzaga program history.

Songco is the eighth WCC Freshman of the Year to come from the Loyola Marymount campus, and the first since Sean Smith earned the award following the 2003 season. Songco enjoyed a stellar rookie campaign, batting .321 on the season, including a .392 clip in conference play. The Granada Hills, CA native pounded out a WCC-best 22 doubles on the season, tying him for eighth place on the LMU single-season doubles list, and tied for the league lead with 10 two-baggers in WCC action. In conference play, he ranked second in the WCC in slugging percentage (.635) and sixth in on base percentage (.464).

Hill was tabbed for Coach of the Year honors for the second time in his career, previously earning the distinction in 2002. Hill guided the Toreros to a record-setting campaign, as USD set a program mark with 41 wins and captured the WCC regular season title for the first time. The San Diego squad also garnered a USD-record No. 5 national ranking, and reeled off 17 straight victories against WCC opponents during the 2007 campaign.

The WCC All-Conference team includes eight Toreros and five Pepperdine players, while Gonzaga and San Francisco each placed four players on the All-WCC Team.

Player Of The Year: Shane Buschini, San Diego
Pitcher Of The Year: Clayton Mortensen, Gonzaga
Freshman Of The Year: Angelo Songco, LMU
Coach Of The Year: Rich Hill, San Diego

All-WCC Team
Jordan Abruzzo# - San Diego - C - SR
James Allan - Portland - DH - SR
Mitchell Bialosky# - San Francisco - 1B - JR
Donald Brown - Pepperdine - OF - JR
Shane Buschini#* - San Diego - OF - SR
Matt Couch - San Diego - RHP - JR
Barry Enright#* - Pepperdine - RHP - JR
Logan Gelbrich - San Diego - DH - JR
AJ Griffin - San Diego - RHP - FR
Darin Holcomb - Gonzaga - 3B - JR
Jonnie Knoble# - San Francisco - OF - SR
Brian Matusz# - San Diego - LHP - SO
Tommy Medica# - Santa Clara - C - FR
Brad Meyers - LMU - RHP - JR
Clayton Mortensen# - Gonzaga - RHP - SR
Jon Norfolk - San Francisco - C - SR
Adam Olbrychowski - Pepperdine - RHP - JR
Adrian Ortiz - Pepperdine - OF - JR
Aaron Poreda* - San Francisco - LHP - JR
Josh Romanski# - San Diego - UT - SO
Justin Snyder# - San Diego - 2B - JR
Angelo Songco# - LMU - OF - FR
Shawn Wayt# - Gonzaga - OF - JR
Ryan Wiegand# - Gonzaga - 1B - SO
Danny Worth - Pepperdine - SS - JR

*Previous Times an All-WCC First Team Pick; #Unanimous Selection

All-Freshman Team
Nate Garcia - Santa Clara - RHP
AJ Griffin - San Diego - RHP
Steve Kalush - Santa Clara - RHP
Tommy Medica - Santa Clara - C
Derek Poppert - San Francisco - 3B
Travis Tartamella - Pepperdine - C
Alex Rivers - Santa Clara - RHP
Angelo Songco - LMU - OF
Jeremy Stumetz - Gonzaga - RHP
Randy Wells - Saint Mary's - 2B

Honorable Mention
GON- Brandon Harmon, Aaron McGuinness, Mike Terry
LMU- Eric Farris, DeAndre Miller
PEP- Jason Dominguez
POR- David Gruener, Given Kutz
SMC- JP Musgrove
USD- Kevin Hansen, Daniel Magness
USF- Brian Chavez, Jason Dufloth, Derek Poppert
SCU- Gabe Alcantar, Ryan Conan, Matt Wickswat