{{ article.title }}

San Diego And Pepperdine Receive NCAA Tournament Bids

May 26, 2008

Complete NCAA Bracket in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, CA - San Diego and Pepperdine were named to the NCAA Tournament field on Monday, marking the third straight season that multiple WCC baseball teams have earned selection. Both teams received No. 2 seeds, with the Toreros traveling to Long Beach State and the Waves heading to Stanford.

The No. 6 ranked San Diego team will travel to Blair Field, and will meet No. 3 seed California on Friday. The No. 1 seeded 49ers will meet No. 4 seed Fresno State in opening round action. The Toreros captured their second straight WCC Championship Series title with a two-game sweep of Pepperdine on Saturday, and enter the tournament with a 41-13 overall record. It marks the second straight season that USD has posted 40 wins, setting a program record with 43 victories last year. The Toreros earned selection for the third straight year, and the fifth time since 2002.

Pepperdine, currently ranked No. 13 in the nation, will travel to Stanford to meet No. 3 seed Arkansas on Friday. The host Cardinal will play No. 4 seed UC Davis in the regional's other first round match up. The Waves finished in second place in the WCC standings, and posted a regular season mark of 36-19 this year. It marks the sixth straight NCAA Tournament selection for Pepperdine, and the 25th overall. It also marks the first time since 1995 that the Waves will leave Southern California for regional play.

This season is the eighth time in conference history that the WCC has earned multiple bids to the NCAA Baseball Tournament, and marks the first time that multiple league teams have been selected in three consecutive years.

Game times and ticket information for NCAA Regional play have yet to be announced.

2008 NCAA Baseball Championship

Long Beach Regional
Hosted by Long Beach State
1. Long Beach State
2. San Diego
3. California
4. Fresno State

Stanford Regional
Hosted by Stanford
1. Stanford
2. Pepperdine
3. Arkansas
4. UC Davis