{{ article.title }}

San Diego Selected As NCAA Regional Site

May 27, 2007

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The University of San Diego has learned that it has been selected as a host institution for the NCAA Baseball Regionals to begin on Friday June 1. The Toreros will host the four-team Regional at San Diego State University's Tony Gwynn Stadium, on the campus of SDSU. Ticket information for the Regional will be released later this afternoon.

This marks the first time in the history of college baseball that the NCAA postseason has come to the city of San Diego. The Toreros will learn on Monday at 9:30 a.m. who the other three-teams will be in the regional on ESPN's 'Road to Omaha' selection show to be aired live on ESPN.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records through Saturday, May 26, are as follows: Arizona St. (43-13), Tempe, Ariz.; Arkansas (41-18), Fayetteville, Ark.; Coastal Caro. (48-11), Conway, S.C.; Florida St. (47-11), Tallahassee, Fla.; Long Beach St. (36-18), Long Beach, Calif.; Missouri (40-16), Columbia, Mo.; North Carolina (47-12), Chapel Hill, N.C.; Ole Miss (37-23), Oxford, Miss.; Rice (48-12), Houston; San Diego (42-16), San Diego; South Carolina (42-18), Columbia, S.C.; Texas (44-15), Austin, Texas; Texas A&M (43-16), College Station, Texas; Vanderbilt (50-11), Nashville; Virginia (43-14), Charlottesville, Va.; Wichita St. (49-19), Wichita, Kan.

The regional hosted by Coastal Caro. will be played at Coastal Federal Field in Myrtle Beach, S.C., and the regional hosted by Texas will be played at Dell Diamond in Round Rock, Texas.

By virtue of being awarded a regional, eight of the host institutions also have been selected as at-large teams to the 64-team field. Florida St., Long Beach St., Missouri, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia and Wichita St., have made the field as at-large selections. Arkansas, North Carolina, Rice, San Diego, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt, would clinch automatic berths by winning their conference tournament championship, which are scheduled for Sunday afternoon. A loss in those tournament championship games makes them an at-large selection. Arizona St. and Coastal Caro. have already clinched automatic berths by virtue of winning the Pacific-10 and Big South Conference, respectively. Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 1, to Monday, June 4.

Coastal Caro., Missouri, San Diego and Vanderbilt will host a regional for the first time, while Long Beach St., North Carolina and Virginia are hosting for the third time in school history. This will be the 26th time that Florida St. has hosted a regional, while Texas is hosting for the 23rd time and Arizona St. is hosting for the 17th time. South Carolina (11th) and Wichita St. (10th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Rice and Texas A&M are hosting a regional for the sixth time, while Arkansas and Ole Miss are hosting for the fourth time. Long Beach St., North Carolina, Virginia are all hosting for the third time. Six sites (Arkansas, North Carolina, Ole Miss, Rice, Texas and Virginia) also hosted in 2006.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at 12:30 p.m. Eastern time, Monday, May 28, during a live, half-hour program on ESPN. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on www.NCAASports.com, Monday, June 4 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

Thirty Division I conferences receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 61st Men's College World Series begins play Friday, June 15, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.

OTHER REGIONAL SITE SELECTION INFORMATION: Southeastern 4 (Arkansas, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Vanderbilt)Atlantic Coast 3 (Florida St., North Carolina, Virginia)Big 12 3 (Missouri, Texas, Texas A&M)Big South 1 (Coastal Caro.)Big West 1 (Long Beach St.)Conference USA 1 (Rice)Missouri Valley 1 (Wichita St.)Pacific-10 1 (Arizona St.)West Coast 1 (San Diego)