{{ article.title }}

Pepperdine And San Diego Selected To NCAA Tournament

May 28, 2007

Complete NCAA Bracket in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, CA - Pepperdine and San Diego earned bids to the NCAA Baseball Tournament, as announced by the selection committee on Monday. The Waves will travel to Long Beach, CA and meet No. 2 seed UCLA, while the Toreros received a No. 8 national seed and will host No. 4 seed Fresno State at Tony Gwynn Stadium this weekend.

San Diego clinched its third WCC Championship Series title with a 13-1 win over Gonzaga on Sunday, and will host an NCAA Regional for the first time in program history this weekend. The Toreros, who received a No. 8 national seed, will face Fresno State in first round action on Friday. Rounding out the San Diego Regional will be No. 2 seed Cal State Fullerton and No. 3 seed Minnesota. San Diego set a program-record with 43 wins during the 2007 campaign, and will be hosting at Tony Gwynn Stadium on the San Diego State campus.

Pepperdine earned its fifth straight bid to the NCAA Tournament, and its first at-large selection since 2003. The Waves posted a 35-20 overall record during the regular season, and finished third in the WCC with a 14-7 mark in conference play. Pepperdine received a No. 3 seed at the Long Beach Regional, and will face off with No. 2 seed UCLA in first round play. Long Beach State will host the regional, and will begin action against No. 4 seed Illinois-Chicago.

This season marks the second straight year that the WCC has earned multiple bids to the NCAA Tournament, and the first time since 1988 and 1989 that the conference has produced multiple bids in back-to-back campaigns. The WCC has placed multiple teams in the postseason seven times in league history. This season also marks the second straight year that a conference program has been selected to host an NCAA Regional, as Pepperdine hosted for the first time in Malibu last season.

2007 NCAA Baseball Championship

San Diego Regional
Hosted by San Diego
1. San Diego (No. 8 national seed)
2. Cal State Fullerton
3. Minnesota
4. Fresno State

Long Beach Regional
Hosted by Long Beach State
1. Long Beach State
3. Pepperdine
4. Illinois-Chicago