{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces All-Conference Teams, Individual Award Winners

June 1, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- The West Coast Conference has announced its 2011 All-WCC teams and individual award winners, as voted on by the league's eight head coaches. Two freshmen in particular made a significant impact in their debut campaign: San Diego third baseman Kris Bryant and Gonzaga pitcher/first baseman Marco Gonzales were each recognized as the 2011 West Coast Conference Co-Player and Co-Freshman of the Year. Gonzales was not the only Gonzaga player to earn a major award, as junior Ryan Carpenter earns Pitcher of the Year honors. After winning the 2011 WCC championship, San Francisco third baseman Stephen Yarrow is the WCC Defensive Player of the Year, and Dons' head coach Nino Giarratano was recognized as the West Coast Conference Coach of the Year.

San Diego third baseman Kris Bryant was recognized with two major awards after an impressive freshman season. Bryant started all 21 games during conference play for the Toreros, while leading the WCC with a .410 batting average, .525 on-base percentage, 26 runs scored, and eleven doubles. For the season, Bryant led the WCC with a .365 batting average. His nine overall home runs were tied for most in the conference.

Gonzaga's Marco Gonzales was also recognized as the Co-Player and Co-Freshman of the Year, along with Bryant. On the mound, Gonzales led the West Coast Conference with 11 victories, while posting a 2.57 earned run average. In seven conference starts, Gonzales went 6-0 while limiting WCC foes to a .222 batting average against. When he wasn't on the hill, Gonzales was the Bulldogs' first baseman - where he hit .315 during WCC play.

The Gonzaga pitching staff led the West Coast Conference in earned run average, and junior Ryan Carpenter was named the WCC Pitcher of the Year. The Bulldogs junior was 5-1 with a 2.19 earned run average in seven conference starts, striking out a league-best 58 batters. For the season, Carpenter's 107 strikeouts over 96 innings ranks among the national top ten.

San Francisco third baseman Stephen Yarrow was named the 2011 West Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year. As the Dons' starting third baseman, Yarrow played error-free baseball in 58 chances during conference play. Yarrow was a part of five double plays from the hot corner in WCC action, while helping USF lead the nation in fielding percentage.

After leading his team to its first West Coast Conference title since 2006, University of San Francisco head coach Nino Giarratano has been named the 2011 WCC Coach of the Year by his peers. It is the third such honor for Giarratano, who was recognized as the league's top skipper in both 2006 and 2005. After being picked to finish third in the coaches' pre-season poll, the 2011 Dons won 31 games, while posting a 16-5 conference mark.

The complete 2011 All-West Coast Conference Team follows. 

Martin Agosta,Saint Mary's,So.,RHP
Nik Balog,San Francisco,Jr.,1B
Kyle Barraclough,Saint Mary's,Jr.,RHP
Connor Bernatz,San Francisco,Sr.,OF
Kris Bryant,San Diego,Fr.,3B
Ryan Carpenter,Gonzaga,Jr.,LHP
Alex Gillingham,Loyola Marymount,Jr.,RHP
Marco Gonzales,Gonzaga,Fr.,LHP/1B
Tyler Chism,Gonzaga,Sr.,OF
Cameron Edman,Gonzaga,Sr.,C
Aaron Gates,Pepperdine,Jr.,LHP
Turner Gill,Portland,Fr.,OF/DH
Bryan Haar,San Diego,Jr.,Util.
Cory Hall,Santa Clara,Sr.,RHP
Travis Higgs,San Francisco,Sr.,C
Brian Humphries,Pepperdine,Jr.,OF
Matt Koch,Loyola Marymount,Jr.,C
Zack Kometani,San Diego,Jr.,C
Kyle Kraus,Portland,Jr.,RHP
Pete Lavin,San Francisco,Sr.,OF
Corey LeVier,San Diego,Jr.,1B/OF
Cody Martin,Gonzaga,Sr., RHP
Joe Sever,Pepperdine,So.,2B
Patrick Wisdom,Saint Mary's,So.,3B
Stephen Yarrow,San Francisco,Sr.,3B
Kyle Zimmer,San Francisco,So., RHP
Honorable Mention: Dillon Checkal, San Diego; Toby DeMello, Saint Mary's; Chris Dennis, Portland; Calvin Drummond, San Diego; Aritz Garcia, San Francisco; Aaron Griffin, Loyola Marymount; Brenden Kalfus, Saint Mary's; Eric Lane, Gonzaga; Matt Lowenstein, Loyola Marymount; Matt Lujan, San Francisco; Jason Mahood, San Francisco; Kevin Muno, San Diego; Paul Paez, San Diego; Mark Phillips, Gonzaga; Patrick Terry, Santa Clara; Joe Vierra, Loyola Marymount

Alex Balog,San Francisco,1B/RHP
Richard Boas,Saint Mary's,SS/2B
Kris Bryant,San Diego,3B
Kyle DeMerritt,Santa Clara,3B
Scott Frazier,Pepperdine,RHP
Marco Gonzales,Gonzaga,LHP/1B
Turner Gill,Portland,OF/DH
Corey Miller,Pepperdine,RHP
Paul Paez,San Diego,LHP
Michael Wagner,San Diego,RHP

Co-Players of the Year:
Kris Bryant, San Diego; Marco Gonzales, Gonzaga

Co-Freshmen of the Year:
Kris Bryant, San Diego; Marco Gonzales, Gonzaga

Pitcher of the Year:
Ryan Carpenter, Gonzaga

Defensive Player of the Year:
Stephen Yarrow, San Francisco

Coach of the Year:
Nino Giarratano, San Francisco