{{ article.title }}

Six WCC Players Named To Wallace Award Watch List

Dec. 7, 2007

Six WCC baseball players were named to the watch list for the Brooks Wallace Award, as announced by the College Baseball Foundation. The honor is presented annually to the nation's top collegiate baseball player, and will be awarded on July 3, 2008.

San Diego leads the way for WCC teams, as the defending conference champion placed three players on the list. Torero AJ Griffin joined USD Juniors Brian Matusz and Josh Romanski, while Pepperdine pitcher Brett Hunter was also placed among those on the watch list. Saint Mary's sophomore Anthony Aliotti was also named, and Santa Clara sophomore Tommy Medica rounds out the players tabbed from the WCC.

"After a great fall baseball season, we can see that the talent level in college baseball will once again be great. We have several from last year's Wallace Watch that we will continue to follow, and we look forward to tracking the new additions as well", said Raymond Richardson, Chair of Brooks Wallace National Player of the Year Award Committee.

The Wallace Award is presented to the nation's top collegiate baseballplayer in conjunction with the College Baseball Hall of Fame's annualinduction festivities. The 2008 award banquet will be held Thursday, July 3, in the United Spirit Arena on the campus of Texas Tech University.

Last year¹s Brooks Wallace award went to Vanderbilt pitcher, David Price.Price was the first overall pick in the 2007 First-Year Player Draft and is currently pitching in the Tampa Bay Rays organization. The 2006 winner wasstandout pitcher/designated hitter Brad Lincoln of Houston. Nebraska¹s AlexGordon, now with the Kansas City Royals, took home the 2005 trophy. Theinaugural award was given in 2004 to Kurt Suzuki of Cal State Fullerton, who is now catching for the Oakland A¹s.

The Wallace Award is a dedication to the memory of the former Texas Techplayer and assistant coach Brooks Wallace. Wallace was a slick-fieldingshortstop at Texas Tech from 1977 to 1980. A four-year starter, he was named All-Southwest Conference and All-District his senior year. He led the Red Raiders to their first-ever appearance in the Southwest ConferenceTournament in 1980. After playing two years in the Texas Rangersorganization, he returned to Texas Tech and served as a graduate assistantand later as an assistant coach. In the summer of 1984, he was diagnosedwith cancer and fought the disease courageously until his death on March 24, 1985, at age 27. The Plano, TX, native was married to the former Sandy Arnold and they had one daughter, Lindsay Ryan.