{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces 2010 Men's Basketball All-Conference Team

March 1, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- The Gonzaga Bulldogs captured their record 10th consecutive WCC regular season title crown and were reward with three of the four yearly conference awards. Gonzaga senior Matt Bouldin was named the WCC Player of the Year, while freshman Elias Harris was named the Newcomer of the Year, and head coach Mark Few was selected as the Coach of the Year. Saint Mary's senior Omar Samhan was named the conference's Defensive Player of the Year.

Bouldin becomes the 11th different Gonzaga player to earn the league's top honor and the ninth Bulldog to be selected Player of the Year in the last 10 years. Bouldin is the senior leader for the Bulldogs' squad which tied Connecticut (1951-60 Yankee Conference) and UNLV (1983-92 Big West) for the second-longest conference regular season title winning streak in NCAA history. UCLA is first with 13 straight Pacific-10 Conference titles from 1967-79. Bouldin, who was named to the Naismith Trophy Mid-Season Top 30 list and is a finalist for the Cousey Award, leads the Bulldogs in scoring at 16.0 ppg, assists with 4.14/game and assist-to-turnover ratio at 1.87. He has 1,617 career points to rank ninth all-time, his 428 career assists rank fifth and his 166 steals are third.

Samhan becomes the third Saint Mary's player to earn WCC Defensive Player of the Year honors. The San Ramon, Calif. native follows former teammate Diamon Simpson, who took home the award the previous two seasons. Samhan enters the WCC Tournament as the Gaels' all-time leader in blocked shots with 243. He currently ranks third on the WCC's career blocked shots record and is just four blocks shy of moving past 2009 WCC Player of the Year John Bryant of Santa Clara, for second place. Samhan also ranks second on the Gaels' career rebounds chart and 14th on the WCC's all-time list with 1,056 career boards.

Harris becomes the second Gonzaga player to earn WCC Newcomer of the Year honors, joining J.P. Batista (2005), since the award replaced the WCC Freshman of the Year award in 2003-04. The freshman from Speyer, Germany has made an immediate impact in the Zags' lineup ranking second on the team in scoring (15.1 ppg), while leading the team in rebounding (7.4 rpg).

The top coaching honor is Few's WCC record eighth overall, with all of them coming in the last 10 years. No other coach in WCC history has won more than four. Gonzaga has won at least 20 games in each of Few's 11 years on the Bulldog bench. This season, he has led the Zags to a 24-5 record and their 10th consecutive WCC regular season title.

2010 WCC Player of the Year
Matt Bouldin, GON

WCC Defensive Player of the Year
Omar Samhan, SMC

Newcomer of the Year
Elias Harris, GON

Coach of the Year
Mark Few, GON

2010 All-WCC First Team
Matt Bouldin, GON
T.J. Campbell, POR
Steven Gray, GON
Elias Harris, GON
Dior Lowhorn, USF
Mickey McConnell, SMC
Omar Samhan, SMC
Robin Smeulders, POR
Vernon Teel, LMU
Drew Viney, LMU

Honorable Mention
Keion Bell, PEP
Matthew Dellavedova, SMC
Brandon Johnson, USD
Luke Sikma, POR
Jared Stohl, POR
Mychel Thompson, PEP
Marc Trasolini, SCU

All-Freshman Team
Matthew Dellavedova, SMC
Ashley Hamilton, LMU
Elias Harris, GON
Chris Manresa, USD
Robert Smith, SCU