{{ article.title }}

2008 WCC Men's Tournament Bracket Announced

March 3, 2008

Complete 2008 MBB Bracket in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

San Bruno, Calif. - With the conclusion of the West Coast Conference men's basketball regular season, conference squads now turn their attention to the WCC Tournament, which begins on Friday, March 7 at the Jenny Craig Pavilion on the campus of the University of San Diego.

Gonzaga secured the top seed, posting a 13-1 record in conference play to win its eighth consecutive WCC regular season title and the Bulldogs' 10th in the last 11 seasons. Saint Mary's owns the No. 2 seed and like the Zags will earn a bye until the semifinals on March 9.

Host San Diego earned the No. 3 seed, while Santa Clara finished fourth in the conference standings to earn the No. 4 seed. The Toreros and the Broncos earn first round byes and will play in the quarterfinal round on March 8. San Francisco, led by legendary Head Coach Eddie Sutton is the tournament's No. 5 seed, while Pepperdine is the No. 6 seed. The Portland Pilots are the No. 7 seed, while the Loyola Marymount Lions are the No. 8 seed.

The 2008 WCC Tournament marks a return to San Diego's Jenny Craig Pavilion, as the conference's premier event was hosted by USD for three straight years from 2001-03. In 2003, San Diego became the first host school to capture the tournament title, defeating Gonzaga, 72-63, in the championship game. Gonzaga later accomplished the feat in 2006, when the Zags hosted the conference tournament and edged Loyola Marymount, 68-67, in the title tilt.Gonzaga became the first conference program to claim both the men's and women's tournament titles in the same season in 2007.