{{ article.title }}

No. 1 Gonzaga, Saint Mary's learn NCAA Tournament fate

March 17, 2013

| WCC on Facebook | WCC Network

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- For the third time in the last four years, the West Coast Conference will send multiple teams to the NCAA Tournament, as the bracket was announced by the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Committee on Sunday. Two West Coast Conference teams - Gonzaga and Saint Mary's - will compete in the field of 68, marking the fourth time in the last six years the WCC has produced multiple tournament teams.

West Coast Conference champion Gonzaga University (31-2 overall, 16-0 WCC) earned the No. 1 seed in the West Region, and will open play against Southern University on Thursday at EnergySolutions Arena in Salt Lake City, Utah. The Bulldogs are currently the nation's No. 1 ranked team in both major polls.

This season marks Gonzaga's 15th straight appearance in the NCAA Tournament and its 16th overall. The Zags hold a 31-2 overall mark - the 31 wins being the most in school history - and closed out the West Coast Conference season with a perfect 16-0 record, which clinched their 16th regular season title. The Bulldogs won the WCC Tournament with a 65-51 victory over No. 2 seed Saint Mary's College.

Saint Mary's (27-6 overall, 14-2 WCC) earned an at-large bid to the NCAA field. The Gaels will face Middle Tennessee State on Tuesday in an Opening Round game in Dayton, Ohio. The Gaels will be making their fourth tournament appearance in the last six seasons.

2013 also marks the 13th time in conference history that the West Coast Conference has sent multiple teams into the Big Dance. Eight of the multi-bid years have come since 2000, with the WCC sending 24 teams into the NCAA Tournament since the turn of the century.

2013 - Gonzaga, Saint Mary's*

2012 - BYU*, Gonzaga*, Saint Mary's
2010 - Gonzaga*, Saint Mary's
2008 - San Diego, Gonzaga*, Saint Mary's*

2005 - Gonzaga, Saint Mary's*

2003 - San Diego, Gonzaga*

2002 - Gonzaga, Pepperdine*

2000 - Gonzaga, Pepperdine*

1996 - Portland, Santa Clara*

1995 - Gonzaga, Santa Clara*

1989 - Loyola Marmount, Saint Mary's*
1987 - Santa Clara, San Diego*

1982 - Pepperdine, San Francisco*
* Indicates at-large selection