{{ article.title }}

Seven #WCChoops Student-Athletes Named to All-District Nine Squads

March 27, 2015

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook


KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced the NABC Division I All-District teams and UPS All-District coaches for 2014-15 today. Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student-athletes and coaches represent the finest basketball players and coaches across America.

West Coast Conference student-athletes dominated the District Nine list, accounting for seven of 10 spots on the first (4/1) and second (3/5) teams. BYU placed two on the list, headlined by senior guard Tyler Haws (first) and junior guard Kyle Collinsworth (second). No. 7 Gonzaga placed two on the first team, led by 2014-15 WCC Player of the Year senior guard Kevin Pangos and Newcomer of the Year junior forward Kyle Wiltjer.

Two-time All-WCC selection junior forward Stacy Davis represented Pepperdine on the second team, while Saint Mary's senior center Brad Waldow earned first team accolades. San Diego senior guard - and 2014-15 Academic All-American - Johnny Dee captured second team honors.

Gonzaga head coach Mark Few, the first 10-time WCC Coach of the Year recipient in league history, earned his fourth District Coach of the Year honor. Few guided Gonzaga to the best start (29-1) and longest winning streak (22) in program history. Few previously captured district top coaching accolades in 2002, 2006 and 2010.

District 9 First Team
Brad Waldow St. Mary's
Kyle Wiltjer Gonzaga
Kevin Pangos Gonzaga
Corey Hawkins UC Davis
Tyler Haws Brigham Young

Second Team
Kyle Collinsworth Brigham Young
Mike Caffey Long Beach State
Stacy Davis Pepperdine
Alan Williams UC Santa Barbara
Johnny Dee San Diego