{{ article.title }}

Three WCC Student-Athletes Up for Major National Awards

April 9, 2015

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram | WCC on Facebook

SAN BRUNO, Calif. -- Three West Coast Conference men's basketball student-athletes are finalists for major national awards as presented by the Hoop Hall Awards branch of the Basketball Hall of Fame.

Each trophy presentation for the winners will be done by the Naismith Hall of Fame award namesake. The College Basketball Awards will air live on ESPN2 from Los Angeles Friday, April 10, starting at 5:00 p.m. PT.

BYU senior All-American guard Tyler Haws is a finalist for the Jerry West Award, presented to the nation's top shooting guard. A two-time All-American and the 2013-14 WCC Player of the Year, Haws finished his career with 2,720 points -- the most in program history.

Gonzaga All-American senior Kevin Pangos is a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award, presented to the nation's top point guard. The 2014-15 WCC Player of the Year, Pangos is one of just five student-athletes to be named the All-WCC First Team four times.

Gonzaga All-American junior Kyle Wiltjer is a finalist for the Karl Malone Award, presented to the nation's top power forward. Wiltjer was honored as the WCC Newcomer of the Year in 2014-15. Wiltjer captured the top spot in online fan voting, collecting 39% of the votes, which will count as one ballot in the final determination by the committee.