{{ article.title }}

WCC Announces 2010 Baseball All-Conference Honors

June 3, 2010

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - With a 19-2 WCC record, the University of San Diego posted the best conference mark since the WCC went to a single division 21-game format. On Thursday, the Toreros were rewarded for their dominant play, landing eight players on the WCC's 25-man all-conference team, including the Player of the Year in senior outfielder James Meador and the Pitcher of the Year in junior RHP Kyle Blair. San Diego Head Coach Rich Hill was named the WCC Coach of the Year after guiding the Toreros to their third WCC title in the last four seasons. Rounding out this year's individual honors is Portland senior catcher Rocky Gale taking home the league's Defensive Player of the Year award and LMU's Matt Lowenstein earning Freshman of the Year honors.

Meador, who took home the WCC Player of the Year honor last season, becomes just the second player in conference history to earn the Player of the Year honor multiple times and the first since Santa Clara's Duane Larson also earned back-to-back awards in 1970-71. Meador paced the Toreros' high-powered offense, batting a league-best .488 during conference play, while ranking second in WCC games in hits (40) and RBI (25). The Ramona, CA native enters the NCAA Tournament ranked fifth on USD's all-time doubles list with 56, while his 62 RBI on the season rank him third on the Toreros' single-season RBI chart.

Blair has been magnificent on the mound for the Toreros, posting a league-best 6-1 record in conference play with an impressive 1.98 ERA, which was also tops in the WCC. Blair struck out a conference-best 71 batters in just 54.2 innings, while his strikeout-to-walk ratio (71-11) was also the best in the league. The Monte Sereno, CA native is just the third USD player in conference history to earn the league's top pitching honor, following Brian Matusz, who took home the award in 2008, and Ricky Barrett, who earned the honor in 2002.

Lowenstein becomes the ninth LMU player to be selected WCC Freshman of the Year and the first since Angelo Songco earned the award in 2007. Lowenstein turned in a fantastic first season for the Lions, batting .325 during league play. In conference play, his 13 RBI tied him for third most among freshmen, while he lead all WCC rookies in total bases (39), while tying for second in hits (26) and runs (15).

Gale becomes the first catcher to win the WCC's Defensive Player of the Year honor in the awards three-year existence. The previous two awards went to middle infielders. Gale was absolutely lethal throwing out would-be base stealers, tossing out 19-of-26 (.730) attempted base stealers.

Hill won his fourth WCC Coach of the Year honor and his third in the last four years. Hill, in his 12th season at USD, has led the Toreros to their fourth trip to the NCAA Regionals in the last five seasons.

2010 WCC Player of the Year
James Meador, USD (unanimous selection)

2010 WCC Pitcher of the Year
Kyle Blair, USD (unanimous selection)

2010 Defensive Player of the Year
Rocky Gale, POR

2010 Freshman of the Year
Matt Lowenstein, LMU

2010 WCC Coach of the Year
Rich Hill, USD

2010 All-WCC First Team
Nik Balog, USF
Conor Bernatz, USF (unanimous selection)
Kyle Blair, USD (unanimous selection)
Matt Bywater, PEP (unanimous selection)
Mark Castellitto, GON
Troy Channing, SMC
Cole Cook, PEP (unanimous selection)
Chris Dennis, POR
Chris Engell, USD (unanimous selection)
Rocky Gale, POR (unanimous selection)
AJ Griffin, USD
Ryan Hawthorne, LMU
Drew Heid, GON (unanimous selection)
Riley Henricks, POR
Brian Humphries, PEP
Geoff Klein, SCU
Kyle Kraus, POR (unanimous selection)
Nick McCoy, USD (unanimous selection)
James Meador, USD (unanimous selection)
Tommy Medica, SCU (unanimous selection)
Kevin Muno, USD
Colin Rooney, PEP
Sammy Solis, USD (unanimous selection)
Matt Thomson, USD
Stephen Yarrow, USF

2010 Honorable Mention
Nick Armenta, POR
Dillon Checkal, USD
CJ Cullen, POR
Justin Fazio, SMC
Mike Ferraro, USD
Floyd Given, PEP
Nate Johnson, PEP
Pete Lavin, USF
Ryan Lipkin, USF
Matt Lowenstein, LMU
Matt Ozanne, SCU
Evan Peters, SCU
Derek Poppert, USF
Ryan Rieger, SCU
Joe Sever, PEP
Zach Vincej, PEP

2010 WCC All-Freshman Team
Nick Armenta, POR
Clayton Eslick, GON
Steven Halcomb, GON
Matt Lowenstein, LMU (unanimous selection)
Jason Mahood, USF (unanimous selection)
Matt Ozanne, SCU
Ryan Rieger, SCU (unanimous selection)
Joe Sever, PEP (unanimous selection)
Zach Vincej, PEP (unanimous selection)
Patrick Wisdom, SMC