{{ article.title }}

San Diego Toreros Summer Report

June 23, 2010


2009-10 Records
Overall Record: 11-21
WCC Record: 3-11


Name: Chris Manresa
Position: Forward
Class: Sophomore

Chris Manresa emerged as one of the top young players in the WCC last season. He ranked second among all WCC freshmen in rebounding with 5.4 rpg, while adding 8.3 ppg in conference play.

  • The Toreros finished the 2009-10 season by defeating Santa Clara, 61-59, in the first round of the 2010 Zappos.com WCC Tournament before falling to Portland, 72-57, in the quarterfinals.

  • San Diego will need to replace the scoring and leadership of four graduating seniors in guards Brandon Johnson and De'Jon Jackson and forwards Chris Lewis and Roberto Mafra.

  • Johnson closed out his brilliant career as USD's all-time leader in points (1,790) and assists (525). He is the only player in WCC history to lead his team in both career statistical categories. Johnson's 1,790 career points rank 17th on the WCC's all-time list, while his 525 career assists rank just outside the WCC's top 10.

  • Fourth-year Head Coach Bill Grier will welcome five newcomers to the roster and welcome back six letterwinners and two red-shirt players that sat out last season. For the first time, Grier's entire roster will be filled with players he and his staff recruited.

  • Headlining the list of returners is sophomore forward Chris Manresa, who earned WCC All-Freshman team honors last season. In WCC play, Manresa scored in double-digits four times and notched two double-doubles. In conference games, he ranked second among all WCC freshmen in rebounding with 5.4 rpg, while contributing 8.3 ppg.

  • San Diego will field one of the youngest teams in the conference with 12 underclassmen on the Toreros' roster.

  • The 2009-10 season was highlighted by a home win over Stanford, a quality road win at Boise State, and a second place finish in the Great Alaska Shootout. During the Shootout, the Toreros knocked off the then-No. 25 ranked Oklahoma Sooners in the first round, and then the Houston Cougars who went on to advance to the NCAA Tournament.