{{ article.title }}

Loyola Marymount Men's Basketball in 2014 Diamond Head Classic Field

Aug. 5, 2014

| TheW.tv | WCC on Instagram


HONOLULU -- The bracket for the 2014 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic - to be played Monday, Tuesday and Thursday, Dec. 22, 23, & 25 in Honolulu - has been set. The eight competing teams include Colorado, DePaul, George Washington, Loyola Marymount, Ohio, Nebraska, Wichita State and host Hawai`i. The Lions will open the tournament with the Shockers of Wichita State on Monday, Dec. 22 at 8 pm (PT) on ESPNU.

The multi-day, destination event will feature 12 games over three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracketed-tournament format. Three of the 12 matchups, including the championship game, will be showcased on ESPN2. ESPNU will carry seven games, and one will be exclusive to ESPN3.

Entering its sixth year, the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic will again be played at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu, where it has become a holiday tradition on the island of O'ahu.

The tournament tips off Monday, with Ohio (Mid-American) pitted against George Washington (Atlantic 10) at 2:30 p.m. ET on ESPNU, immediately followed by DePaul (Big East) versus Colorado (Pac-12) at 4:30 p.m. on ESPNU. Monday's evening session will feature the Lions against Wichita State (Missouri Valley) at 11:00 p.m. on ESPNU and wrap with a battle between Nebraska (Big Ten) and tournament host Hawai'i (Big West) at 1 a.m. Tuesday on ESPNU.

Five of the participating teams appeared in the 2013-14 postseason, including Colorado, George Washington and Nebraska, all of which earned second-round berths in the NCAA Championship. Wichita State had a storybook season with a 35-1 record and its second straight appearance in the national tournament. Ohio advanced through the quarterfinals of the Collegeinsider.com Postseason Tournament.

From LMULions.com